NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU College of Business to honor 2014 Hall of Fame inductee

Greg G. Maxwell, a top executive at Phillips 66 and a 1978 graduate of New Mexico State University, will be inducted this month into the NMSU College of Business Hall of Fame. In addition, the college will present the Traders Award to alumna Judy Gray Johnson and corporate supporter El Paso Electric.

Portrait of Greg Maxwell
Greg G. Maxwell, a Phillips 66 executive and 1978 New Mexico State University accounting graduate, will be honored as the 2014 inductee to the College of Business Hall of Fame.
Portrait of Judy Johnson
Judy Johnson, a CPA who attended New Mexico State University from 1969 to 1972 and has, along with her husband, Michael, been a generous supporter of the university, will receive the 2014 Traders Award from the College of Businesss. (NMSU photo by Darren Phillips)

The induction ceremony takes place at 6 p.m. April 25 at the Las Cruces Convention Center, 680 E. University Ave. Established in 1997 by the College of Business, the Hall of Fame honors outstanding business college alumni who have distinguished themselves in their careers.

Maxwell is the executive vice president of finance and chief financial officer for Phillips 66. He has more than 35 years of experience in various financial roles within the petrochemical and oil and gas industries, having served as senior vice president, chief financial officer and controller for Chevron Phillips Chemical Company, where he also previously served as vice president and controller.

Maxwell said he is very honored to be inducted into the College of Business Hall of Fame.

?New Mexico State provided me with an outstanding educational foundation to begin my career,? he said. ?During my career, I have had the opportunity to do business in many different countries and to interact and compete with people who attended various universities. In my opinion, NMSU prepared me to be successful.?

Maxwell joined Phillips Petroleum Company following his graduation in 1978 as a staff accountant in the comptrollers group. He held various positions within the comptrollers group until 1989, when he moved to corporate planning and development as a senior planning specialist.

In 1991, Maxwell became a senior financial analyst in the corporate treasury department. He served as finance manager for the Phillips chemicals division from 1992 to 1994 and as finance manager of the company?s plastics division from 1994 to 1998. In 1998 he was appointed general auditor for Phillips Petroleum Company and served in that capacity until joining Chevron Phillips Chemical in 2000.

?NMSU is much more than brick and mortar,? he said. ?It is the professors, the staff and the students who make NMSU so great. I?m thankful that I had the opportunity to not only grow academically at NMSU, but also to experience the kindness and interest extended to me as a student.?

A certified public accountant and a certified internal auditor, Maxwell serves on the board of Phillips 66 Partners, DCP Midstream, the Celebration of Reading Committee for the Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy and the University of Houston Global Energy Management Institute.

Two special awards also will be given out at the Hall of Fame ceremony. Introduced in 2006, the Traders Award honors individuals who have given exceptional service to the College of Business. In 2010, the Corporate Traders Award began recognizing outstanding contributions by corporations to the college?s mission.

This year?s Traders Award recipient is Judy Gray Johnson, a CPA who attended New Mexico State University from 1969 to 1972. Johnson went on to earn her bachelor?s of business administration degree in accounting at the University of Houston. She was awarded an honorary doctorate from NMSU in 2012.

Johnson?s career experience of more than 30 years includes public accounting, private industry, and local government. She and her husband, Michael, have made generous contributions to NMSU, establishing an endowed chair in the Department of Geological Sciences, creating a professorship in accounting, establishing the Daisy Gray Scholarship in the College of Education, contributing to the Center for the Arts and funding significant improvements to the baseball field. She serves on the Business Advisory Council and the College of Education Board of Advocates.

The Corporate Traders Award this year will go to El Paso Electric in recognition of its ongoing generous support of the College of Business and NMSU. El Paso Electric has contributed to programs including the Domenici Public Policy Conference, the Business Advisory Council and the Center For Public Utilities, as well as a state-of-the-art distance learning classroom in the college?s newest building, Pete V. Domenici Hall, set to open this fall.

The company also supports initiatives across the university ? since 1985, El Paso Electric has awarded more than $1.5 million to NMSU. El Paso Electric executives, including CEO Tom Shockley, have visited the campus to speak with business students and provide mentorship.

College of Business Interim Dean Kathy Brook praised both Johnson and El Paso Electric as important and continuing contributors to student success.

?Judy Johnson and El Paso Electric have worked closely with the college for years in ways that directly enhance the academic programs available to our students, as well as our ability to serve the broader community,? Brook said. ?This award is our way of expressing our gratitude for their exceptional service.?

For more information about the 2014 Hall of Fame banquet, or to purchase tickets at $100 per person, contact Anthony Casaus at 575-646-5817 or acasaus@nmsu.edu. Learn more about the College of Business online at business.nmsu.edu or facebook.com/NMSUBusiness.