NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NM EDGE presents professional training certificates to 34 public servants

DEMING ? A graduating class of 34 public servants received certifications in their fields recently through an education program administered by New Mexico State University's Cooperative Extension Service.

Recent graduates of NM EDGE?s County College and the New Mexico Certified Public Managers programs were honored during the New Mexico Association of Counties summer conference in Deming. NM EDGE, a program administered by New Mexico State University?s Cooperative Extension Service, provides a comprehensive course of study to administrators, managers, elected officials and staff in local, state, tribal and national government agencies. Pictured are, front from left, graduates Desiree Rivera-Lewis, Josephine Gallegos and Cynthia Saiz, all of Sandoval County; Mary DeLorenzo, NM EDGE program director; Evelyn Valencia of Santa Fe County and Rosa Porras of Luna County. Second row are Aleta Tittle of Curry County, Theresa Romero and Adamina Pino, both of Santa Fe County; DeAun Searl of Roosevelt County; Clara Cordova and Karen Martinez, both of Taos County; Grisel Melendez and Glory Johnson, both of Luna County; and Marc Legarreta, NM EDGE assistant program director. Third row are Patrick Varela and Carole Jaramillo, both of Santa Fe County; Rene Barba of Dona Ana County; Sherrie Huddleston of Lincoln County; Consuelo Gonzales of Dona Ana County; Susan Trujillo of Taos County; Michele Jordan of Rio Arriba County; and Stephanie Hicks of Roosevelt County. Fourth row are Jon Boren, NMSU College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences assistant dean and director of Cooperative Extension Service; David Estrada, Catron County; Johnny Baca of Santa Fe, Paula Garcia, NMAC president-elect; GloJean Todacheene of San Juan County; Sondra Andes of Curry County; Brent Jaramillo of Taos County; Larry Polanis of Sandoval County; and Sharon Stover, NMAC vice president. Back row are Robert Martinez and Les Francisco, both of Santa Fe County; Mark Jasso of Luna County; and Wendell Bostwick, NMAC president.

Through its Certified Public Manager and County College programs, NM EDGE, which stands for Education Designed to Generate Excellence in the public sector, graduated its 11th class of public servants at a recent ceremony during the Legislative Conference of the New Mexico Association of Counties? annual conference in Deming. Since 2008, the program has graduated 216 public officials with one or more designations.

To obtain a certification designation, the students must complete a required number of three-hour classes depending on the certification, and a portfolio demonstrating, through written and project work, their application of the competencies learned by participating in the classes.

Jon Boren, New Mexico Cooperative Extension Service director, and Wendell Bostwick, New Mexico Association of Counties president, presented each graduate with their certificate and a commemorative lapel pin as the graduates names were read by Mary DeLorenzo, NM EDGE program director.

The original County College program administered through NM EDGE graduated 10 individuals with customized designations, eight of which received the certified treasury official designations.

To earn the certified treasury official designation, public employees had to complete 26 three-hour classes, plus a portfolio project. Receiving the designation were Sondra Andes, Curry County chief deputy treasurer; Rene Barba, Dona Ana County chief deputy treasurer; from Sandoval County, Josephine Gallegos and Cynthia Saiz, tax researchers; Desiree Rivera-Lewis, accounting specialist; and Larry Polanis, treasury controller; along with Patrick Varela, Santa Fe County treasurer; and Susan Trujillo, Taos County treasurer.

Other certifications awarded were the public sector specialization designation of certified GIS specialist and the county college designation of certified public assessment officer.

To earn the certified GIS specialist designation, David Estrada, Catron County deputy assessor, completed 28 three-hour classes plus a portfolio project.

To earn the certified public assessment officer designation, Susan Griffin, Catron County assessor, completed 26 three-hour classes plus a portfolio project.

Two levels of the core designations in the New Mexico Certified Public Manager program were awarded during the ceremony.

Thirty-four graduates earned designations in the nationally recognized New Mexico Certified Public Manager Program. The program has three core certification programs in which students build on their course work as they advance from certified public official to certified public supervisor to certified public manager.

During the ceremony, 16 graduates earned the New Mexico Certified Public Official designation, having completed 18 three-hour classes plus a portfolio project.

Receiving the CPO designation were:
? Catron County: David Estrada, deputy assessor.
? Curry County: Sondra Andes, chief deputy treasurer; and Aleta Tittle, chief deputy clerk.
? Dona Ana County: Consuelo Gonzales, court compliance division manager; Rene Barba, chief deputy treasurer; and Paul Ponce, chief deputy assessor.
? Lincoln County: Sherrie Huddleston, financial accounting officer.
? Luna County: Mark Jasso, emergency service director;
? Rio Arriba County: Michele Jordan, bureau of elections chief.
? Roosevelt County: DeAun Searl, county clerk.
? Santa Fe County: Carole Jaramillo, budget administrator; Adamina Pino, accounts payable supervisor; Theresa Romero, treasurer?s department administrator; and Evelyn Valencia, senior accountant.
? Sierra County: Barbara Schalkofski, E911 administrator.
? Taos County: Clara Cordova, chief deputy treasurer; and Karen Martinez, human resources generalist.
? Village of Cloudcroft: Jini Turri, village administrator, clerk and treasuer.

Nine graduates earned the second-tier designation of New Mexico Certified Public Supervisor by completing 30 three-hour classes and a six-hour culminating assessment in which the student demonstrates the application of competencies learned through participating in the certified public manager classes.

Receiving the CPS designation were:

? Luna County: Glory Johnson, assistant to county clerk and special projects supervisor; Grisel Melendez, accounts payable specialist; and Rosa Porras, human resource payroll specialist.
? Roosevelt County: Stephanie Hicks, chief deputy clerk.
? San Juan County: GloJean Todacheene, county commissioner.
? Santa Fe County: Johnny Baca, traffic manager; Les Francisco, solid waste superintendent; and Robert Martinez, operations and maintenance division director.
? Taos County: Brent Jaramillo, deputy county manager and Village of Questa Councilor.

?We feel this program directly assists us in our mission to take practical education to every part of our state. We couldn?t be more pleased with the enthusiastic response to the program," Boren said of the NM EDGE program. ?We continue to find collaborative ways to reach out to new partners toward our mutual goal of better government through education.?