NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU faculty recognized for online teaching

Faculty and staff at New Mexico State University were honored Dec. 4 for improving the quality of their online courses during the Instructional Innovation and Quality recognition and awards celebration.

Group photo of four people
Awardees Michelle Lebsock, Tim Strasser, Robbie Grant, and Steve Leask are congratulated at the NMSU Instructional Innovation and Quality celebration. (NMSU photo by Rosemary Woller)

Instructional Innovation and Quality supports the Online Course Improvement Program, a professional development program for NMSU faculty focusing on improving the quality of online teaching and learning.

The program follows the Quality Matters standards, a subscription-based service providing research-based online course design requirements.

?Part of the Quality Matters process is not just standards, but also getting training and understanding of what those standards look like in a course,? said Susie Bussmann, director of IIQ. ?It?s important for the students to know what their expectations are, the instructions of the course, how to submit assignments and how it will be assessed.?

The information helps both the instructor and student navigate the course while online. Canvas iClicker and ITV are examples of learning technologies supported by IIQ at NMSU.

IIQ consists of the following units: Instructional Media Services, Academic Technology, Distance Education and OCIP.

Richard Oliver, College of Business professor, received IIQ?s ?Leading the Way? award for his advocacy, sharing and leadership for online teaching and learning. Ed Pines, Industrial Engineering department head, was recognized for having the Most Creative Anecdotes and Best Jokes for his ITV courses.

The following faculty and staff were recognized:

One Year Plus Fellowship: Charles Boehmer, Nathan Brooks, Tami Ford, Merranda Marin, Niki Mott, Henrietta Williams Pichon, Rajaa Shindi, Elise Sautter, Enedina Vasquez and Laura White.

New2Online Program: Paul Anderson, Ed Boles, Michael DeAntonio, Kefaya Diab, Mary Fahrenbuck, Julie Fitzsimmons, Matthew Holt, Joseph Lakey, Michael McGonigle and Michele Shuster.

Quality Matters Peer Reviewers: Stephen Anderson, Susan Bussmann, Marija Dimitrijevic, Jed Duggan, Tami Ford, Kerry Forsythe, Miley Grandjean, Sandy Johnson, Krista Kozel, Sharon Lalla, Justin MacDonald, Julia Parra, Robert Paz, Betsy Stringam, Kourtney Vaillancourt and Susan Wilson.

Quality Matters Master Reviewers: Stephen Anderson, Sandy Johnson, Sharon Lalla, Miley Grandjean, Betsy Stringam and Elise Sautter.

Quality Matters Nationally Recognized Courses: Mike DeMers, Sandy Johnson, Sharon Lalla, Richard Oliver, Julia Parra and Jim Shearer.

OCIP is a partnership between the Student Technology Advisory Committee, the Provost, the college deans and Distance Education.

For more information visit, http://instruction.nmsu.edu