NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU?s College of ACES honors faculty, staff, community leaders for contributions to agriculture

Faculty and staff with New Mexico State University?s College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences, as well as some community members, were honored April 17 for making outstanding contributions to agriculture throughout the state.

Woman receiving award.
New Mexico State University College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences Dean Lowell Catlett honors Dina Chacon-Reitzel with the New Mexico Outstanding Leadership Award at the ACES Awards Day Ceremony April 17. (NMSU photo by Jocelyn Apodaca)

Dina Chacon-Reizel received the New Mexico Outstanding Leadership Award. Chacon-Reitzel has worked with the New Mexico Beef Council since 1989 and served as the Executive Director of the council since 1991. She was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award from the college in 1996.

Stirling Spencer, the 2014 New Mexico Cattle Growers Cattleman of the Year, received the Philip J. Leyendecker Agriculturalist of Distinction Award.

Jeanne Gleason, Media Productions department head and Extension executive producer, was awarded the Fabian Garcia Founders? Award of Excellence.

The Charles Tharp Farms Distinguished Service Award went to Soumaila Sanogo from Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science.

Alexander ?Sam? Fernald, professor of Watershed Management and interim director of the Water Resources Research Institute, was awarded the Mobley Family Endowed Distinguished Research Award.

Deborah Sandoval, of the Agricultural Science Center at Los Lunas, received the Malone Farms Endowed Distinguished Staff Award.

C. Scott Bundy from Entomology, Plant Pathology and Weed Science, was given the Kringle the Cat Distinguished Teaching Award.

Distinguished Staff On-Campus Award went to Dana Wiebe, from Animal and Range Sciences.

Distinguished Professional Staff On-Campus Award was presented to Jason French, Extension Plant Sciences.

Distinguished Professional Staff Off-Campus Award was given to Jason Box from the Agricultural Science Center at Tucumcari.

Distinguished Extension Award was presented to Rossana Sallenave, from Extension Animal Sciences and Natural Resources.

Karim Martinez, of the Dona Ana County Extension Office, received the Distinguished County Agent Award.

Laura White, from Animal and Range Sciences, received the North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture Teaching Award.

Outstanding 4-H Agent Award went to John Allen of the Hidalgo County Extension Office.

The Team Award went to the New Mexico Youth Ranch Management Camp: Nick Ashcroft, Jack Blandford, Blair Clavel, Doug Cram, Tom Dean, Tom Dominguez, Summer Eaton, Jerry Hawkes, Steve Lucero, Leigh Ann Marez, Sonja Jo Serna, Sam Smallidge, Patrick Torres, Marcy Wood and John Wenzel.

Family and Consumer Science Industry Leadership Award was presented to Robert ?Bob? Del Campo.

Rebecca Bolton was awarded the HRTM Industry Leadership Award.

Tony Johnson was presented with the Outstanding Agriculture Teacher Award.

Peter Skelton, from Memorial Middle School Agricultural Extension and Education Center and 4-H Youth Development leader, was awarded with the Founder?s Day honor.

The Gerald Thomas Chair was presented to Pat Unkefer and Emilie Regnier.

The Billy and Lois Melton Professorship was awarded to Ian Ray.

Manoj Shukla was awarded the John Kaichiro and Tome Nakayama Professorship.