NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Search News Center Articles

Related Articles

NM EDGE graduates 13th class during county association?s summer conference

ALBUQUERQUE ? A graduating class of 37 public servants received certification in their fields recently through an education program administered by New Mexico State University?s Cooperative Extension Service.

Large group of people standing on stairway.
Thirty-seven public servants received certification in their field from the NM EDGE education program administered by New Mexico State University's Cooperative Education Service. Since 2008, the program has certified 268 public officials in one or more designations. (NMSU photo by Jane Moorman)

The nationally accredited New Mexico Certified Public Manager program administered by NM EDGE, which stands for Education Designed to Generate Excellence in the public sector, graduated its 13th class of public servants at a recent ceremony during the Legislative Conference of the New Mexico Association of Counties held in Albuquerque. Since 2008, the program has certified 268 public officials with one or more designations.

Two of the graduates were the first to earn the New Mexico Certified Extension Professional designation. Brittany Grube is the urban 4-H agent with NMSU?s Bernalillo County Extension and Cydney Martin is a home economist with NMSU?s Santa Fe County Extension. This is the first such designation in the nation.

?The New Mexico Certified Extension Professional program was suggested by Jon Boren, associate dean and director of New Mexico Cooperative Extension Service. With the help of Bruce Hinrichs and several New Mexico district directors and program managers, the curriculum was developed and presented as part of NM EDGE professional development certification, but also as staff training for CES,? said Mary DeLorenzo, NM EDGE program director. ?It is the first such program in the nation, and we understand that Extension nationwide is looking at this as a potential model for any program wishing to replicate something similar in their state.?

To obtain a certification designation, the students must complete a number of classes, along with a portfolio demonstrating their application of the competencies learned in the classes. For more information about the designations, visit nmedge.nmsu.edu.

Boren and Steve Kopelman, New Mexico Association of Counties executive director, presented each graduate with their certificate and a commemorative lapel pin as the graduates names were read by DeLorenzo,

Receiving designations were:
? Bernalillo County: Brittany Grube, 4-H agent, certified Extension professional.
? Catron County: County Clerk M. Keith Riddle and Sherry Perez, chief deputy clerk, both certified county clerk.
? Chaves County: Joe West, road maintenance foreman, and Angelo Gurule, both certified public supervisor.
? Dona Ana County: Paul Ponce, chief deputy assessor, certified public official.
? Eddy County: County Assessor Gemma Ferguson, certified professional assessment officer and certified public supervisor.
? Guadalupe County: Monica Abeyta, project manager, and Rose Fernandez, finance director, both certified public official.
? City of Santa Rosa: Mark Micelli, water and wastewater superintendent, certified public official.
? Grant County: Justin Reese, public works director and airport manager, certified public official.
? Lea County: Kristie Parish, paralegal and risk management coordinator, certified public official; and County Assessor Sharla Kennedy, certified public assessing officer.
? Los Alamos County: Jocelyn Warner, deputy clerk, certified public official.
? McKinley County: Jose Gabriel, GIS technician, certified GIS specialist; and Deputy Clerk Steven Garcia and Ronald Johnson, both voting machine technicians, Deputy Treasurer Angie Touchine-Livingston and Marlene Custer, chief deputy clerk, all certified public official.
? Mora County: Edna Sena, chief procurement officer and road administrator, certified public purchasing professional.
? Sandoval County: Annette Chavez, senior tax researcher, certified treasury official; and Christie Humphrey, chief deputy assessor, certified public official.
? Santa Fe County: Adam J. Bailey, accountant, Eric J. Lujan, chief deputy treasurer, and Brenda M. Sandoval, production controller, all certified public official; Cydney Martin, Extension home economist, certified Extension professional; and Lorina Sanchez, accountant, certified public supervisor.
? Sierra County: County Assessor Keith Whitney, certified public assessment officer; and Jocelyn Holguin, purchasing agent, certified public purchasing professional.
? State of NM Commission for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing: Deborah Romero, director of administrative services, certified public purchasing professional.
? Taos County: Johna Gonzales, juvenile/adult detention center director, and Antonia Santistevan, office manager, certified public official; and Anthony Mondragon, GIS technician, certified GIS specialist.
? Torrance County: Nick Sedillo, chief appraiser and risk manager, certified public assessment officer; and Leslie Olivas, purchasing director, certified public purchasing professional.
? Valencia County: Fire Chief Steven Gonzales and Nicholas Moya, EMS division chief, certified public official; and Michelle Romero, purchasing agent, certified public purchasing professional.