NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico 4-H Hall of Fame adds eight to its honorees

Eight 4-H leaders and supporters were inducted into the New Mexico 4-H Hall of Fame in July at New Mexico State University. The induction ceremony, which was held during the 4-H State Conference, included individual recognition for the inductees and a breakfast.

Group of nine people, men standing in back of women sitting in chairs
The 2015 inductees to the New Mexico 4-H Hall of Fame are, back from left, Randy Lieb, of Roosevelt County; Paul Hay, of Eddy County; Pete Gnatkowski, of Lincoln County; David Howard, of Santa Fe County; and Rick Richardson, NMSU 4-H Youth Development interim department head. Front row are Diane Lieb, of Roosevelt County; Kristin Sultemeier, of Lincoln County; Neil Atkins, of Harding County; and Mary Howard, of Santa Fe County. The hall of fame, which began in 2002, has honored 211 4-H leaders and volunteers since its inception. (NMSU photo by Jocelyn Apodaca)

l of fame, established in 2002, honors 4-H members, volunteer leaders, fair superintendents, advisory board members, 4-H Foundation trustees and former faculty with NMSU's Cooperative Extension Service, which administers 4-H statewide.

?This is the highest honor we have to offer people who have provided support and service to 4-H members in New Mexico,? said Rick Richardson, interim department head of the NMSU Cooperative Extension Service?s 4-H Youth Development Program. ?Including this group, we have inducted 211 individuals and couples into the hall of fame.?

This year?s inductees are Paul Hay, of Eddy County; the late Joe Atkins, of Harding County; Pete Gnatkowski and Kristin Sultemeier, both of Lincoln County; Randy and Diane Lieb, of Roosevelt County; and David and Mary Howard, of Santa Fe County.