NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State University faculty recognized for teaching excellence

Eleven New Mexico State University faculty members were honored with the 2005 Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Awards at the university's Spring Convocation Tuesday, Jan 11.

New Mexico State University's 2005 Roush Award winners are, left to right, Lisa Dalton, Paul Frank Webb, Dana Christman, Douglas Bocaz-Larson, Ali Ahmad, Stephen Starnes, Stuart Munson-McGee and Lisa Bond-Maupin. (NMSU photo by Darren Phillips)

The Roush Awards are named in memory of Donald C. Roush, a former executive vice president, in recognition of his 35 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico. The honor is based on information gathered from students and recommendations from department heads, deans and provosts.

The 2005 recipients are:

Gerald M. Hawkes, assistant professor of agricultural economics and agricultural business, College of Agriculture and Home Economics.

Lisa J. Bond-Maupin, assistant professor of criminal justice, College of Arts and Sciences.

Stephen D. Starnes, assistant professor of chemistry and biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences.

Peter M. Wichert, assistant professor of finance, College of Business Administration and Economics (awarded posthumously).

Dana E. Christman, assistant professor of educational management and development, College of Education.

Stuart Munson-McGee, professor of chemical engineering, College of Engineering.

Lisa Dalton, assistant professor of social work, College of Health and Social Services.

Ali Ahmad, assistant professor of mathematics at Dona Ana Branch Community College.

Paul Frank Webb, associate professor in the division of business, humanities and social sciences at NMSU-Alamogordo.
Michelle L. Hatley, assistant professor of chemistry at NMSU-Carlsbad.

Douglas Bocaz-Larson, instructor in the department of computer science at NMSU-Grants.