NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Faculty members to be honored at convocation

Some of New Mexico State University's top faculty members will be honored during the university's Spring Convocation program at 9 a.m. Tuesday, Jan. 11, in the Music Center Recital Hall on the main campus in Las Cruces.

Eleven faculty members, representing all five NMSU campuses, will receive Donald C. Roush Awards for Excellence in Teaching. Six new Regents Professors will be introduced, along with the holders of several other prestigious endowed chairs and professorships - the Gerald W. Thomas Chair in Food Production and Natural Resources, the Mountain States Insurance Group Endowed Chair, the J. Paul Taylor Professorship in the College of Education and the John Clark Endowed Professorship in civil engineering.

The Outstanding Student Retention and Graduation Award also will be presented.

The program will open with remarks by President Michael Martin.

The Spring Convocation kicks off the university's spring semester. Classes begin on Thursday, Jan. 13.

A live Webcast of the convocation will be available at http://video.nmsu.edu/convocation.