NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Antonya Nelson wins Rea Award for short-story writing

Published author and New Mexico State University professor Antonya Nelson is this year's winner of the Rea Award for the Short Story, a prize given for lifetime achievement.

,000 award is given to an American or Canadian writer who has demonstrated great "literary power, originality and influence on the genre."

Previous recipients include Richard Ford, Paul Bowles and Joyce Carol Oates.

Nelson is the author of four short story collections, including "Female Trouble," and three novels "Talking in Bed," "Nobody's Girl" and "Living to Tell." Her work has appeared in magazines such as The New Yorker, Esquire, Harper's and Redbook and often appear on the annual list of New York Times' Notable Books.

In 1999, The New Yorker named her one of the "20 young fiction writers for the new millennium."

The Rea award was established in 1986 by Michael M. Rea, writer and collector of short stories. It is the only award in the United States exclusively for short fiction.