NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU's engineering college gives Bromilow Awards

David L. Pippen and Catherine Lindsay have received this year's Bromilow Awards for Excellence from the New Mexico State University College of Engineering.

Pictured standing, from left: David L. Pippen, Rhonda Faught, William Flores, Jamiee Aragon and Neil Bromilow. Seated, from left, are William McCarthy, Catherine Lindsay, Mary Howard and Dorothy Bromilow. (Courtesy photo)

Pippen, a college assistant professor in the NMSU Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, was awarded the Faculty Teaching Excellence Award. Lindsay, a records specialist in the College of Engineering dean's office, was given the Staff Excellence Award.

The Teaching Excellence award is given to a faculty member who demonstrates effective teaching methods according to student evaluations. The awards also recognize effective curriculum development, publications and participation in student activities, laboratory work and alternative teaching environments.

The Staff Excellence award is given to a full-time staff member in the College of Engineering who has provided superior service, including working with student organizations, providing outstanding service to university committees, making special contributions to their departments and serving students, staff or the public as elected or appointed officers in the university or the community.

The Bromilow Awards for Excellence are given annually by the College of Engineering in honor of Frank Bromilow, former dean of the College of Engineering and director of the Engineering Experiment Station from 1961 to 1974.

The awards, which have been given since 1978, were established to perpetuate the high level of educational commitment Frank Bromilow sought to develop in the engineering college. The faculty award alternates between excellence in teaching and excellence in research.