NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Sandia National Laboratories director promotes university collaboration

The United States must maintain its role as a global leader in science and technology if it is to remain a creative and innovative society, the director of Sandia National Laboratories (SNL) said Friday.

NMSU President Michael Martin, left, accepts a check from Thomas Hunter, director of Sandia National Laboratories, as Library Dean Elizabeth Titus and Engineering Dean Steven Castillo look on. (NMSU photo by Victor Espinoza)

Thomas O. Hunter, president of Sandia Corp. and director of SNL, said the lab's outreach to universities like New Mexico State University is critical to "bring along the next generation" of engineers. Sandia's MESA (Microsystems and Engineering Sciences Applications) Project, a half-billion-dollar project under construction now, will be a new source of collaboration between the lab and the university, he said.

As the 2006 Distinguished Bromilow Lecturer, Hunter spoke on the topic of "The New Face of Engineering." Following the lecture, he presented a check for $50,000 to NMSU President Michael Martin, Dean of Engineering Steve Castillo and Library Dean Elizabeth Titus to support the university's PREP (pre-engineering) program, College of Engineering recruitment/retention efforts and engineering acquisitions for the NMSU Library.

The 2006 Bromilow Award for Excellence in Teaching was presented to David Jauregui, associate professor of civil engineering. Jauregui recently was selected as the Outstanding Teacher in Civil Engineering by senior students in the program.

Senior Technologist Lawrence S. Alvarez received the 2006 Bromilow Staff Award. Through his work at the Telemetry Center of the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Alvarez has helped faculty and students with the university nanosatellite program and the New Mexico BEST robotics competition.

Engineering student Joaquin Silva, president of the Engineers' Council, was recognized as the Bromilow Scholarship recipient.

The Bromilow lecture and awards were established in honor of Frank Bromilow, dean of the College of Engineering and director of the Engineering Experiment Station from 1961-1974.