NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State University nursing students inducted into honor society

Thirteen New Mexico State University nursing students and a community leader were inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing recently at a ceremony in Las Cruces.

dents join more than 120,000 active members across the world to create a global community of nurses aimed at improving people's health.

Bachelor's degree seeking students inducted into the Pi Omega Chapter were Karen Jean Brassard, Catherine Elaine Cox, Crystal Lily Davis, Mary McIntier Harding, Marjorie Marie Hillis, Mary Ellen Hunner, Karen Diane Hurd, Sandy Elizabeth Marquez, Coryle Fai Summers, Dora Elena Thomas, Sarah Koch Treece, Nicole Mae Wharton, and Matthew Peter Yeager. Community member Teresa Lynn Keller, a registered nurse, also was inducted.

Newly installed chapter officers included New Mexico State nursing professors Marilyn Pase, president-elect, and Trinette Radasa, counselor. Continuing officers include nursing professor Corine Bonnet, president; local nurses Karen Sakala, vice president; Biviana Cadena, secretary; Priscilla Leong, treasurer; and nursing professor Jacalyn Ryberg, counselor. Nursing professor Joanne Hess completed her term as a counselor.

Membership is by invitation to baccalaureate and graduate nursing students who demonstrate excellence in scholarship and to community leaders exhibiting exceptional achievements in nursing.

For more information about activities of the local chapter, call Bonnet at (505) 646-8170.

Julie M. Hughes
May 2, 2002