NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU Hispanic Caucus recognizes outstanding Hispanics

The Hispanic Faculty and Staff Caucus at New Mexico State University celebrated the achievements of several outstanding Hispanics at an April banquet.

Spring 1999 graduate Cy Salazar was recognized for his year of service as president of the Associated Students of New Mexico State University (ASNMSU), the student body government. Salazar, who majored in communication studies, is serving an internship this summer with the United States Department of Agriculture. Salazar was the first Hispanic since 1988 to serve as president of ASNMSU.

Former Chicano Programs Associate Director Narcisa Zarate was acknowledged by the Caucus for her dedication to the educational achievement of Hispanic students at NMSU. Zarate, who established the Dr. Narcisa Zarate Endowed Scholarship, is the first Hispanic female employee to establish an endowed scholarship.

The Caucus recognized several NMSU and Dona Ana Branch Community College faculty members who received tenure in 1998: biology professor Elba Serrano; chemistry professor Antonio Lara; counseling and educational psychology professor Enedina Vazquez; counseling and educational psychology professor Luis A. Vazquez; electrical engineering professor Robert Paz; languages and linguistics professor Daniel Villa; sociology professor Milagros Pena; Curriculum and Instruction professor Ana Huerta Macias; and Dona Ana Branch Community College legal assistant program professor E. Ann Gutierrez.

Also recognized were NMSU Hispanic faculty and students who submitted grant proposals and received significant funding for research: Carmen Gonzalez of Curriculum and Instruction, who received a grant from the Kellogg Foundation; and chemistry professor Antonio Lara and graduate student Robert Marquez, who received grants from the El Paso Community Foundation and the Environmental Protection Agency.

The NMSU Hispanic student organizations recognized the following faculty members as Outstanding Professors for 1998-99: biology professor Elba Serrano, who also received the 1998 Teaching Excellence Award; Cooperative Extension professor Esteban Herrera; chemistry professor Antonio Lara; social work professor Larry Lucero; and economics professor Marie Mora.
Joy Victory
May 26, 1999