NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State faculty and staff recognized during convocation

New Mexico State University honored 12 of its faculty and staff members at the fall opening convocation Thursday, Aug. 18, at the Pan American Center.

President Michael Martin, far left, appears with the 2005 fall convocation award recipients. The winners are (from left to right) Haobin Wang, Alison Mann, Vincent Gutschick, Mary Ida Baca, Stephen Horan, Elizabeth Aranda, Enrico Pontelli, Christine Eber, David Lujan, Debra Knapp, Ivan Strnad and Anne Hubbell. (NMSU photo by Darren Phillips)

Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards of $500 each were awarded to Anne Hubbell, an assistant professor in communication studies, and Alison Mann, an assistant professor in nursing.

Hubbell not only teaches several classes each semester but directs the internship program for communication studies. She has enrolled dozens of independent-study students, continually conducts and publishes research and has served on 35 graduate committees.

Mann is a registered nurse who also holds an education doctorate. She has advised students in writing and implementing research projects in the Hot Projects program and is the director of the Roadrunner Accelerated Nursing program, a grant-funded program that is expected to graduate 48 nursing students by 2007.

The Dennis W. Darnall Faculty Achievement Award was presented to Christine Eber, an associate professor in sociology and anthropology. In addition to her teaching and her field work with indigenous people in Mexico, she helped create the Religious Studies minor and currently serves as the program coordinator. In 2002, she received an Outstanding New Mexico Woman award from the governor.

University Research Council Awards for Exceptional Achievement in Scholarly Activity were presented to Haobin Wang, an assistant professor in chemistry and biochemistry; Debra Knapp, an assistant professor in physical education, recreation and dance; Vincent Gutschick, a professor in biology; Stephen Horan, head of the Klipsch School of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Enrico Pontelli, an associate professor in computer science.

Wang teaches physical chemistry classes at the undergraduate and graduate level and has established an active research program in theoretical chemistry.

Knapp has directed and produced 25 dance performances and has been a guest dancer with the nationally acclaimed Bill Evans Dance Company.

Gutschick's research focuses on how plants use resources, and how extreme events and global change alter performance from physiology to evolution.

Horan holds the Frank Carden Chair in Telemetering and Telecommunications. His research and teaching interests are in space communications and telemetry systems.

Potnelli's research interests cover a wide range of computer science specialties - logic and constraint programming, parallel processing, bioinformatics, assistive technologies and computable aspects of set theory.

FirstLight Federal Credit Union Staff Achievement Awards of $1,500 each were presented to Elizabeth Aranda, NMSU-Alamogordo; Mary Ida Baca, associate vice provost for international programs; David Lujan, Fabian Garcia Research Center; and Ivan Strnad, manager of Computer Sciences Department Operation Group.

As the executive secretary to the academic officer at NMSU-Alamogordo, Aranda is tasked with overseeing the record-keeping for the Academic Office, including budget and expenditure tracking, as well as maintaining all committee minutes.

Baca recently helped the office obtain grants from several national organizations, including the U.S. Department of Education, National Endowment for the Humanities, Environmental Protection Agency, National Park Service and the U.S. Agency for International Development.

Lujan has been an employee of New Mexico State for more than 40 years at the Fabian Garcia Research Center, supporting an active teaching, research and outreach facility and program. He is responsible for the planning, installation and maintenance of the garden and landscaped areas adjacent to the centers buildings at both the Fabian Garcia and Leyendecker Plant Science Research Center.

Strnad has served as manager of the Computer Science Department Computer Operation Group since 1998. His responsibilities have included supervising and developing the department's computing infrastructure, serving all computing needs and teaching some service classes.