NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU Rodeo dominates competition

The NMSU women's rodeo team won first place this past weekend at a rodeo held in Ft. Huachuca, Ariz., scoring 700 total points, more than three times the total score of the second place team. NMSU's Bailey Gow was named women's all-around champion.

The NMSU men's team placed third overall at the rodeo, hosted by Cochise College.

"The women's team was phenomenal. We had nine out of 10 places in the goat tying going into the short go," said Jim Dewey Brown, NMSU rodeo coach.

Brittany Striegel, of Aztec, N.M., won the goat tying event, followed by her teammates Megan Corey, of Bremerton, Wash., and Bailey Gow, of Roseburg, Ore., in second and third places respectively.

Elgin, Ariz., native Megan Wilkerson placed second in the breakaway roping, lagging only one-tenth of a second behind the first place winner. Staci Stanbrough, of Capitan, N.M., placed third in the event.

Bailey Gow won an easy first place in the barrel racing event, securing her place as all-around cowgirl.

Of the men's team, Brown said, "We didn't get beat by much. We still have a 500 point lead in regionals, and we'll stay on top."

Tyson Runyan, of Silver City, N.M., won the tie-down roping, followed by his teammates JoDan Mirabal, of Grants, N.M., and Chance Means, of Cliff, N.M.

From Alamo, Nev., Chad Steele won second place overall in steer wrestling.

Clay Acuna, of Santa Fe, N.M., and Ty Winterton, of Gilbert, Ariz., were the second place overall team ropers with a nearly five-second lead on the third place team.

Clay Geronimo, of Mescalero, N.M., was the second place bareback bronc rider, and Dean Daly, of Santa Fe, N.M., placed second in the saddle bronc event.

Darren Albrecht, of Veyo, Utah, came into the short go as the third place bull rider, but placed fourth in the event overall.

"It was a good rodeo," Brown said. "If there was an event, we were in it."

The NMSU Rodeo team plans to attend a rodeo in Tucson, Ariz., March 3-4, and another in Florence, Ariz., March 10-11.