NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State alumni to be honored during Homecoming week

The New Mexico State University Alumni Association will honor 2002 Distinguished Alumni, recipients of the James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service and the Honorary Alumnus Award Saturday, Oct. 12, as part of Homecoming 2002.

2 honorees for these awards are:

--W.H. (Bill) Cantrell of Clayton, N.M., College of Agriculture and Home Economics.

--Teri Schultz of Arlington, Va., Fabian Samaniego of Zephyr Cove, Nev. and Katherine Ganz of Corrales, N.M., College of Arts and Sciences.

--Lisa Donnini of Laingsburg, Mich., College of Business Administration and Economics.

--Robert and Olivia Ogas of Las Cruces, College of Education.

--John Eugene Scruggs of Loveland, Colo., College of Engineering.

--Anne Stege Anderson of Roswell, N.M., College of Health and Social Services.

--Nasser A. Al-Aulagi of Sana'a, Yemen, International Distinguished Alumnus.

--Julie Ann Hall of Colorado Springs, Colo., James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service.

--Maj. John David Sedillo Jr., of Santa Fe, N.M., Honorary Alumnus Award.

--Corina Aurora Santistevan of Taos, N.M., Conquistador of the Year Award.

Cantrell earned his bachelor's degree in agricultural economics in 1967. He has served on the NMSU Foundation Board and the Clayton Livestock Research Center Board. He received the James F. Cole Memorial Award for Service in 1997 and the Outstanding Alumnus Award in 1988. Cantrell is currently a self-employed independent fee real estate appraiser at Cantrell Appraisals in Clayton.

Schultz earned her bachelor's degree in journalism in 1988. As a student at New Mexico State, she was copy editor and reporter for the Round-Up, reporter and anchor at KRWG-TV and served on the NMSU Publications Board as chairman in 1988. Schultz also was a member of the New Mexico State chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists and the Pi Beta Phi sorority. She is currently the State Department Reporter for the Fox News Channel and travels with Secretary of State Colin Powell.

Samaniego earned his bachelor's degree in Spanish in 1964. He is nationally recognized as the leading textbook author in the area of Spanish for native speakers and has been a frequent presenter at foreign language conferences across the country. Samaniego is a retired educator.

Ganz earned her bachelor's degrees in biology and chemistry in 1977. She has worked as a physician to Hispanic, Navajo and Pueblo people in New Mexico and Arizona. Ganz served as director of the New Mexico Health Policy Commission for seven years. She is currently self-employed as a private consultant.

Donnini earned her bachelor's degree in home economics in 1976 and her master's degree in economics in 1978. She has served as president for the National Association of Economic Educators and the Kansas Council on Economic Education. Donnini also directs the Stock Market Game, in which more than 700,000 students nationwide participate. She is currently assistant vice president of the Securities Industry Association in Laingsburg, Mich.

Olivia Ogas earned her master's degree in education in 1968. She has been a member of the Las Cruces Public Schools Language Arts Curriculum Committee, Administration Negotiation Team and Superintendent Evaluation Committee. She is a retired principal.

Robert Ogas earned his master's degree in secondary education in 1968. He has been a member of the New Mexico Athletic Association Restructuring Task Force, Executive and Rules Revision Committee and Hispanic Chamber of Commerce. He is currently the principal of Mayfield High School in Las Cruces.

Scruggs earned his bachelor's degree in electrical engineering in 1964. He has worked as an engineer at Hewlett-Packard and Agilent Technologies. Scruggs is currently senior vice president and general manager of the Automated Test Group at Agilent Technologies.

Anderson earned her master's degree in social work in 1993. She has been a member of the National Association of Social Workers and the New Mexico Counseling and Therapy Licensing Board and received the Governor's Award for Outstanding New Mexico Women in 1997. Anderson is currently a clinical social worker and team leader/supervisor at Counseling Associates in Roswell.

Al-Aulagi earned his master's degree in agricultural economics in 1971. He has written numerous academic textbooks on agricultural resources. Al-Aulagi is currently president of Sana'a University, the largest public university in Yemen.

Hall earned her bachelor's degree in electrical engineering in 1983. Hall has worked as an engineer at New Mexico State's Physical Science Laboratory, Motorola, the BDM Corporation and Lockheed Martin, where she currently works as the systems engineering lead in the development of the Global Positioning System Operations Support project.

The James F. Cole Award for Service is awarded annually to an alumnus for their dedication and service to New Mexico State and the Alumni Association. Hall was selected for this award because of her activities as president of the alumni chapter in Colorado Springs and her efforts to recruit students and employees for New Mexico State.

Sedillo, a former recruiting officer and instructor of military physical fitness and the Army ROTC at New Mexico State, has received various awards, including the Army Service Ribbon, the National Defense Ribbon, seven Army Achievement Medals and three Army Commendation Medals. Sedillo is currently the training officer of the 93rd Troop Command in Santa Fe.

The Honorary Alumnus Award is given by the Alumni Association to an individual who did not attend New Mexico State but is active in university activities and programs that help to further the university. Sedillo was chosen for the Honorary Alumnus Award because of his longtime dedication to New Mexico State University, various Alumni Association programs and his efforts to recruit students for the ROTC and New Mexico State.

Santistevan received her bachelor's degree in foreign languages in 1946. She has been a contributor to many historical books. Santistevan is currently working on a book on the history of Taos and two biographical works.

The Conquistadores Club was established at New Mexico State in 1937 to promote social life among Spanish-speaking students, participate in intramural athletics and give recognition to those members who were scholastically outstanding. Each year they honor a former member with the Conquistador of the Year Award.

For more information on Homecoming awards, call the Alumni Association at (505) 646-3616.