NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State faculty recognized for teaching excellence

Eleven New Mexico State University faculty members were honored with the 2003 Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Awards at the university's Spring Convocation Monday, Jan. 6.

New Mexico State University's Roush winners are, left to right, Don Garland, Paul Ricketts, Dennis Hallford, Timothy Cleveland, Marcia Skaar, Paula Wolfe, Susan Williams, Patricia Sandau-Beckler, Deanna Suggs, Robert Des Enfants II and Teresa Meehan. (New

The Roush Awards are named in memory of Donald C. Roush, a former executive vice president, in recognition of his 35 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico. The honor is based on information gathered from students and recommendations from department heads, deans and provosts.

The 2003 recipients are:

Patricia Sandau-Beckler, associate professor of social work, College of Health and Social Services.

Timothy Cleveland, department head and associate professor of philosophy, College of Arts and Sciences.

Robert Des Enfants II, college associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry, College of Arts and Sciences.

Don Garland, associate professor of finance, College of Business Administration and Economics.

Dennis Hallford, professor of animal and range sciences, College of Agriculture and Home Economics.

Teresa Meehan, assistant professor of psychology and education, New Mexico State University-Grants.

Paul Ricketts, associate academic department head of engineering technology, College of Engineering.

Marcia Skaar, associate professor of mathematics, sciences and technologies, New Mexico State University-Alamogordo.

Deanna Suggs, professor of nursing, New Mexico State University-Carlsbad.

Susan Williams, assistant professor in the business occupations program, Dona Ana Branch Community College.

Paula Wolfe, associate professor of curriculum and instruction, College of Education