NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

KRWG-TV wins broadcasting award

The New Mexico State University operated television station KRWG-TV was honored with Station of the Year-Division 2, thanks to its numerous first place awards at the 2007 New Mexico Associated Press Broadcasters Awards.

KRWG-TV competes across the state for the NMAP Broadcasters Awards with stations including fellow PBS station KENW in Portales, commercial news station KOBR and KBIM in Roswell and also KOBF in Farmington.

Top award in the documentary category was awarded to KRWG-TV for its "WWII: Our Stories." The multi-part series was produced as a local companion to the Ken Burns WWII documentary, which aired last year. The project was spearheaded by Glen Cerny, director of broadcasting, and was shot, produced and edited by J.D. Jarvis, Ralph Escandon, Christian Valle and Charles Comer.

Comer, a host and producer, won first place in the Public Service category for KRWG-TV's "Minding Your Business," a weekly, half-hour, Charlie Rose-style interview show. It focuses on business, economic development, community resources, events and issues that impact our region. Show guests have included former New Mexico Secretary of Economic Development Rick Homans, New Mexico Secretary of Agriculture Miley Gonzalez and New Mexico President of the National Restaurant Association Tom Hutchinson.

The "Minding Your Business" segment "The Greater Las Cruces Chamber of Commerce Local Business Feature," also won Comer top honors for Photography and Video Editing. The segment airs at the end of each show and profiles local businesses. These honors are usually awarded to individuals working in nightly newscasts.

KRWG-TV's "News 22," the student run news show, also won two first place awards. Marisa Pazos won for weathercast and Phil Anaya won for sports story.

All of the awards were presented Saturday, April 26, at the annual Associated Press Broadcasters Awards Banquet in Albuquerque.