NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU Carlsbad honors Outstanding Graduates

The New Mexico State University Alumni Association will honor the Spring 2008 NMSU Carlsbad Outstanding Graduates during commencement May 9 in Carlsbad.

Each semester the Alumni Association selects outstanding graduates based on outstanding scholarship, leadership and participation in university and community activities.

The Business, Computer Science and Digital Media Division will honor Deborah McGlasson of Sundown, Texas, a pre-business major. McGlasson has a 3.85 GPA, is on the Dean's List and is in Who's Who Among American Junior College Students.

The English and Humanities Division will honor Robyn Ramsey of Carlsbad, who majored in general studies. Ramsey has a 3.92 GPA, is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society and is in Who's Who Among American Junior College Students.

The Manufacturing Division will honor Augina M. Anaya of Carlsbad. Anaya has a 3.8 GPA and has received the Outstanding Student Award.

The Math Division will honor Christopher Contreras of Carlsbad, a pre-business major. Contreras has a 3.73 GPA, is on the campus Dean's List and National Dean's List and is a Meritorious Graduate.

The Nursing, PE, EMT, Allied Health and Wellness Division will honor Sarah Marie Cordova of Carlsbad, a nursing major. Cordova has a 3.09 GPA, is a member of the Student Nurses Association and was president of the student government.

The Science Division will honor Deanna Younger of Carlsbad. Younger is a general studies major and has a 4.0 GPA.

The Social Science and Education Division will honor Nellie Hill of Carlsbad, a social services major. Hill will receive her degree and the award posthumously. Hill had a 3.59 GPA, was a Crimson Scholar and was a member of the Phi Theta Kappa honor society.

For more information contact the NMSU Alumni Association at (575) 646-3616.