NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU's College of Agriculture and Home Economics honored faculty and community

The New Mexico State University College of Agriculture and Home Economics honored faculty, staff and others who have contributed to agriculture and the university during their annual Awards Day this spring.

The Fabian Garcia Founder's Award was given to Bill Sauble. Sauble is the past president of the New Mexico Cattle Grower's Association and vice chairman of the New Mexico Livestock Board.

Billy Dictson received the New Mexico Outstanding Leader Award. Dictson worked for the New Mexico Cooperative Extension Service and was involved with the Southwest Border Food Safety and Defense Center.

The Leyendecker Agriculturist of Distinction was awarded to Arden Baltensperger. While serving as head of the agronomy department, Baltensperger helped establish the doctorate in agronomy. He also was instrumental in establishing the Leyendecker Plant Science Research Center.

The Southwest Border Food Safety and Defense Center won the Team Award.

Danise Coon received the Distinguished Service Award. Coon is a program coordinator in the Department of Agronomy and Horticulture.

Rolston St. Hilaire, an associate professor in the agronomy and horticulture department, received the Distinguished Research Award.

Entomology specialist Carol Sutherland was honored with the Distinguished Extension Award.

Don Rheay received the Distinguished Staff Member Award (On Campus), while Monica Lury received the Distinguished Staff Member Award (Off Campus). Rheay is an analyst for Extension Computer Support Services, and Lury is a records specialist.

The Distinguished Teaching Award was given to Jay Lillywhite, an assistant professor of agricultural economics and agricultural business.

The NACTA Teaching Award went to Andres Cibils. Cibils is an assistant professor in the animal and range sciences department.

Program director Carlos Valdez was named Outstanding 4-H Agent.

The HRTM Industry Leadership Award went to Joe Loyd, and the Family and Consumer Science Outstanding Alumni Award was given to Tina Faye Jones.

Terrell "Red" Baker, Jane Moorman, Mark Petersen and Reynaldo Torres were honored with the Extension Specialist Association Awards.

Awards also were given to faculty and staff for five, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 years of service to the college and university.