NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

New Mexico State University professorships, chair announced

Five new Regents Professorships, the first Tom Linebery Distinguished Chair and the first Martin Steinman Endowed Professorship in Food Science and Technology were awarded to New Mexico State University faculty members at a Jan. 6 convocation opening the university's spring semester.

First photo is available at http://ucommphoto.nmsu.edu/newsphoto/regents_group.jpg.

Established in 2001 by the New Mexico State University's Board of Regents, the Regents Professorship recognizes faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the university's mission as a land-grant, Carnegie Foundation Doctoral/Research University, and honors contributions in areas of education, research, extension education and public service. The award carries an annual $12,500 stipend.

This year's Regents Professorship recipients are:

Robert Armstrong, physics, has been a faculty member for 32 years. A distinguished researcher in optics and laser physics, he was named the George W. Gardiner Professor of Physics in recognition of his research activities.

Paul Bosland, agronomy and horticulture, popularly known as the "Chileman," leads chile breeding and research at the university and is an internationally recognized authority on Capsicum. He is the co-founder and director of the university's Chile Pepper Institute and the founder and curator of the Capsicum Genetics Cooperative.

Christopher Burnham, English, has developed a comprehensive writing program that includes a writing center and training programs for graduate students and faculty.

Rudolfo Chavez Chavez, curriculum and instruction, has been instrumental in integrating multicultural education content and practices into the curriculum and instruction program including developing several doctoral courses in multicultural education practices and curriculum theory.

Laura Huenneke, biology, is a specialist in population ecology and plant communities. Her laboratory is the Chihuahuan Desert landscape where she studies the dynamics and function of the arid ecosystem.

The Tom Linebery Distinguished Chair was funded with a $1.5 million gift through the Scarborough-Linebery Foundation. The chair recognizes faculty in the College of Agriculture and Home Economics who promote the range livestock, forestry and oil and gas industries and provide education and training on federal land policy and rural economic issues.

John Fowler, coordinator of the university's Range Improvement Task Force, is the first to hold the chair. He has been with the task force since 1986 and works to address range and public land use issues in the region. He has gained recognition as an expert on grazing fees and other public policy issues related to rangelands.

The Martin Steinman Endowed Professorship in Food Science and Technology was funded through a gift from Lilian Steinman to recognize and support outstanding faculty in the College of Agriculture and Home Economics who are engaged in the food science and technology fields.

Lisa McKee, family and consumer sciences, is the first Steinman Endowed Professor. A former scientist for Kraft Foods, she conducts research on the nutritional, chemical and physical evaluation of chiles and related products.