NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU Art Gallery's Juried Student Art Show recognizes students' artworks

The New Mexico State University Art Gallery's 2010 Juried Student Art Show gave students the opportunity to showcase their work and be recognized with a slew of awards given by private individuals, local businesses and the Dean of Arts and Sciences.

The show opened Friday, March 12, when 62 works by NMSU main campus students were selected from 272 entries and were given more than $3,400 in awards. Professor Ray Parish, of the University of Texas at El Paso and founder of the Border Art Residency Program in La Union, was this year's juror and assigned more than 20 cash awards.

This year's award donors included Larry Allen, Roberto's Mexican Restaurant, Jesus and Josefina Mata, Julie Marineau, Richard Parra, Dean and Jean Wilkey, Camille Rendall, the Potter's Guild of Las Cruces, Louis Ocepek, Elizabeth Fisher, Ammu Devasthali and the Arts and Sciences Dean's office.

Students whose work was recognized in this year's show included Paul Neff, John Andrews, Christopher Martenson, Jordan Shranz, Ben Brooks, Jennifer Garcia, Katy Stuckel, Harrison Brooks, Danielle Wood, Mathew Pinch, Stephen Dye, Casie Hutchinson, Rosa Noyales, Aaron Degruyter, Angelita Rodriguez, Michael Moffatt High, Brett Thompson, Amanda Marcott, Natalia Rodriguez, James Gamble, Seth Roby, Andrea Davis, Jessica Pizana and James Meaux.

The exhibition featuring the student work will continue through March 31.