NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

2010-11 New Mexico FFA state officers elected

The 2010-11 FFA state officer team was elected and inducted during the 82nd Annual New Mexico FFA State Convention May 31-June 3 in Las Cruces at New Mexico State University.

The 2010-11 New Mexico FFA state officers are, back row, from left to right, Kayla Hight, Whitley Gammill, Amanda Ball, Tori Patterson, and Megan Meadors, and front row, from left to right, Adam Mitchell, Alyssa Hackett, Lawrence Velasquez, Joseph Ogden and Marshal Wilson. (Courtesy photo)

Joseph Ogden of Carlsbad was elected the 2010-2011 State President. Ogden has been an active member in FFA for more than four years, and has participated in numerous career development events as well as public speaking. He will be a freshman at NMSU Carlsbad in the fall.

"I have been influenced by FFA state officers since before I was even an FFA member, so now I want to be a positive influence and make a difference in members' lives," Ogden said.

Alyssa Hackett of Moriarty was chosen as the State Secretary. Hackett is a high school senior who has won numerous beef production proficiency awards while in FFA. She also has participated in 4-H and the New Mexico High School Rodeo Association.

Megan Meadors of Aztec was elected the District I President, State Vice-President. The incoming San Juan College freshman competes in livestock judging, wool judging and parliamentary procedure in FFA and is a 4-H member as well.

High school senior Lawrence Velasquez of Santa Rosa was elected the District II President, State Vice-President. Velasquez competes in the horticulture, livestock evaluation and homesite evaluation career development events. He also is a member of the National Honor Society.

Mosquero high school senior Adam Mitchell was elected District III President, State Vice-President. Mitchell has held various officer positions in his chapter and also is on the varsity basketball team.

The District IV President, State Vice-President is Kayla Hight, a high school senior from Portales. Hight plays varsity soccer and competes in horse judging.

"My late father was a state officer and I wanted to follow in his footsteps," she said.

Goddard High School senior Whitley Gammill of Roswell was chosen the District V President, State Vice-President. Gammill is a varsity basketball player and participates in the public speaking and crops contests in FFA.

Carrizozo native Marshal Wilson was chosen as the District VI President, State Vice-President. A high school senior, Wilson is an active member in his FFA chapter and participates in the livestock and horse judging career development events.

The District VII President, State Vice-President is Tori Patterson of Animas. Patterson is a senior who competes in dairy cattle evaluation and plays volleyball.

The District VIII President, State Vice-President is Amanda Ball of Moriarty. She is a high school senior and competes in the public speaking and entomology contests in FFA.

Of her inspiration for becoming a state officer, Ball said, "I always remember sitting at state convention listening to all the officers' retiring addresses and thinking, 'I want to do that. I want to inspire people and make them feel the way I do right now.'"