NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Imaging scientist from Hewlett-Packard to speak at Bromilow lecture

Patty Lopez, an imaging scientist and New Mexico State University alumna, will speak at the annual Bromilow lecture at 1:30 p.m. Friday, Feb. 21, in the Thomas and Brown Lecture Hall at New Mexico State University.

Patty Lopez, an imaging scientist with the Hewlett-Packard Company, will be this year's Bromilow lecture speaker. (NMSU photo by Darren Phillips)

Lopez, who has been a software engineer for HP for almost 14 years, will speak about mentorship.

"When I first came to work at Hewlett-Packard after completing my Ph.D., it was a big change working in a corporate setting, but I was fortunate enough to have a great mentor," said Lopez, a mentor with the International Telementor Program. "When I look back at my academic schooling, I can easily see times where a mentor could have helped me make better academic and career decisions. I was fortunate to have had excellent teachers, but in terms of choosing a life path, I think having a mentor to help explore academic and career opportunities would have been invaluable."

Lopez, who has bachelor's, master's and Ph.D. degrees in computer science from NMSU, holds five patents and collaborates on imaging designs with co-workers all over the world. She is the HP campus manager for NMSU and has initiated several technology gifts for student organizations in engineering and computer science at the university. She has also been a member of the NMSU Electrical and Computer Engineering Academy, the Computer Science Advisory Board and the Alumni Association.

The program will also feature the presentation of the Bromilow Awards for Excellence honoring engineering employees. One award is given to a staff member and a second is given to a faculty member for excellence in teaching or excellence in research.

The Bromilow awards and lecture are named for Frank Bromilow, dean of the College of Engineering and director of the Engineering Experiment Station from 1961 to 1974.