NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

4-H Winners Claim Awards at Annual State Conference

LAS CRUCES -- Top 4-H members from across New Mexico received awards and scholarships at a ceremony July 16, following four days of State 4-H Conference and competition at New Mexico State University.

Valerie Biggaw of Doņa Ana County and Brian Gabaldon of Cibola County received $250 scholarships from NMSU's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences .

Family and Community Educators 4-H Scholarships were awarded to Beau Jackson of Grant County, $500, and Christopher Daugherty of Otero County, $1,000.

Pioneer Hi-Bred International, Inc. awarded a $500 scholarship to Masie Siepel of Hidalgo County.

The 4-H Foundation awarded $2,000 scholarships to Lorna Brown of Doņa Ana County, Dynelle Kortz of Santa Fe County, Katie Robertson of Luna County, Masie Siepel of Hidalgo County and Will Waller of Chaves County.

Contest winners and their counties are as follows (HP designates the high-point individual for that contest):

Bernalillo County. Hippology team -- Karen Davidson, Jesse Gearhart and Shelby Kocurek. Favorite foods -- Jessica Grandia. Horse public speaking -- J.J. Wright. Archery/free style limited team -- Danny Gilbert, Matthew Haynes and Andrew Thornton. Dairy bowl team -- Heather Peters, Jason Peters, Erin Tidman and Cammy Woods. Horse bowl team -- Karen Davidson, Danny Gilbert, Beth Hassard, Matthew Haynes and Andrew Thornton (HP).

Chaves County. Horse Judging team -- James Tucker Randle, Victoria Patton, Sherryl Randeau and Chris Spear. Wool judging team -- Blair Dunn, Travis Gray, Sherryl Randeau and Will Wooten. Livestock judging -- Victoria Patton (HP). Fashion revue/ intermediate dress-up -- Kerri Rowland. Fashion magic -- Whitney Hobson (HP). Air Pistol team -- James Davis (HP), Steven Langley and Cole Randle. Record book/beef -- Bert Maples. Record book/ leadership -- Will Waller.

Cibola County. Archery/traditional bow -- Kevin Small (HP).

Colfax County. Target rifle team -- Laura Lemmons, Melissa Lemmons, Joe Troyer and Thomas Wortman.

Curry County. Horticulture judging team -- Jandi Castleberry, LaMicah Drager, Cindy Johnson (HP), and Sherry Johnson. Consumer decision making team -- Allison Johnson (HP), D'Llaynn Montgomery, Krysta Morris and Jenni Williams. Archery/ free style limited -- Clay Moyers (HP). Light rifle team -- Dusty Johnson, Clay Moyers (HP) and Joe Nash. Fashion revue intermediate/coordinates -- Aimee Vogt. Entomology team -- Allison Johnson, Jeanette Kos and Garret Nash. Fashion magic clothing coordination -- Ashley Denton. Meats identification team -- Micah Grau, Allison Johnson, Adam Malone (HP) and Martin Mackechnie. Home ec bowl team -- Ashley Denton, Lindsay Gilbert, Cindy Johnson, Sherry Johnson and Aimee Vogt. Home economics presentation -- Cindy Johnson (HP).

De Baca County. Fashion revue/casual -- Dana Buchman.

Doņa Ana County. Public speaking/prepared -- Lauren Romig. Public speaking/impromptu -- Sam Lowry. Archery/compound barebow -- Stewart George (HP). Fashion magic/wardrobe planning - - Kristin Dickerson. Parliamentary procedures team -- A.J. Alba, Valerie Biggan, Christina Curry, Deborah Dictson, Sam Lowry and Lauren Romig. Record book/clothing -- Deborah Dictson. Record book/horse -- Jessica Settles. Record book/leadership -- Lorna Brown. General presentation -- Candice Grooms.

Eddy County. Crops judging -- Michelle Cattaneo (HP). Range management team -- Sterling Hendricks, Gentry Kimbley, Rayland Lauhoff and Kerry McCrory. Entomology -- Jason Griffin (HP).

Grant County. Fashion revue/advanced formals -- Christy Sumrall. Fashion revue -- Christy Sumrall (HP overall). Record book/fashion revue -- Christy Sumrall. Record book/swine - - Cori Carter.

Hidalgo County. Health presentation -- Luther Dunlap.

Lincoln County. Record book/leathercraft -- Rob Shafer.

Luna County. Crops judging team -- Kyle Griffith, Darby Hibner, Josh Robertson and Josh Smith.

Otero County. Record book/agriculture -- Jack Rathgeber.

Quay County. Horse judging -- Janet Hall (HP). Hippology -- Brooke Evetts (HP). Muzzleloading -- Clay Hight (HP). Wildlife habitat evaluation team -- Connie Griggs, Don James (HP), Brad Kirksey and Melanie Robinson. Archery/free style unlimited team -- Clay Hight (HP), Ryan Maddaford, Kacee Nunez and Terry Riddle. Land judging team -- Cody James, Jennie James, Lindy Pate (HP) and Melanie Robinson. Leadership/citizenship presentation -- Tracy Chavez. Shotgun team -- Luke Haller, Clay Hight (HP), Jason Lafferty and Ryan Maddaford. Record book/sheep -- Joleen Szaloy.

Roosevelt County. Dairy judging team -- Alicea Bennet, Julie Caviness (HP) and Ty Duncan.

San Juan County. Meats identification -- Jennifer Smith (HP).

San Miguel County. Wool judging -- Patrick Padilla (HP). Fashion revue/advanced special -- Tanya Mondragon. Record book/ sheep -- Tanya Mondragon.

Santa Fe County. Record book/beef -- Jamie Reynolds. Record book/goats -- Alex Diaz. Record book/citizenship -- Dynelle Kortz.

Sierra County. Muzzleloading team -- Audra Lyon, Jimmy Plane and Ty Taylor. Range management -- Ty Carter (HP). Target rifle -- Audra Lyon (HP).

Torrance County. Livestock judging team -- Cole Gardner, Lacey Kingston, Erin McMath and Vera Wilson. Environmental issues presentation -- Erin McMath.

Union County. Agriculture presentation -- Todd Podzemy.

Valencia County. Record book/sheep -- T.J. Rivera.