NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Faculty and staff receive awards at opening day ceremony

Nine faculty and staff members received awards totaling $12,000 at an Aug. 24 convocation ceremony that opened New Mexico State University's 1999-2000 academic year. The awards recognize outstanding service and achievement.

El Paso Energy Foundation Faculty Achievement Awards

El Paso Energy Foundation Faculty Achievement Awards, worth $3,000 each, are awarded to faculty members who have gone to extraordinary efforts to assure that their students get a high-quality education. Nominations are accepted from students, faculty and administrators. This year's recipients are:

-Nancy Baker of the government department, who was recognized for her impact on, and involvement with, students. Baker works as a teacher, internship supervisor, academic adviser and student organization adviser.

-Frank Williams of the department of mathematical sciences, who has a distinguished record as a teacher and has developed more effective teaching methods.

-Hortencia Kayser of the department of special education and communications disorders, who is a nationally known expert in bilingual speech-language pathology.

Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Achievement Awards

Fort Bliss Federal Credit Union Achievement Awards, worth $500 each, recognize faculty and staff for outstanding service to the university and to local, state, national or international agencies. This year's recipients are:

-Clyde Eastman, of the department of agricultural economics and agricultural business, who was praised, in part, for his two-year tenure as chairman of NMSU's Faculty Senate.

-Jimmy Smith, of NMSU's Alamogordo Branch Campus, who in more than 25 years of service to the university has served as interim associate campus director for instruction and as a member of the Deans' Advisory Council.

-Andrew J. Burke, associate campus director at Dona Ana Branch Community College, who also served as interim campus director until a permanent director could be named.

-Cathy Thomas, administrative assistant for the College of Arts and Sciences, who is an active member of the NMSU Classified Employees' Children Scholarship Committee and president of the Ceres Women's Fraternity International Board.

Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards

Named for a former faculty member, the Patricia Christmore Faculty Teaching Awards go to junior tenure-track faculty members for excellence in teaching. Two $500 awards are given annually. This year's recipients are:

-Sam Gray of the management department, who has helped develop the entrepreneurship program in the business college and administer the general business degree.

-Elizabeth Cahill of curriculum and instruction, who was instrumental in attaining the approval of the NMSU Board of Regents for the Early Childhood Program.