NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU honors top, 'millionaire' researchers

Faculty and staff at New Mexico State University whose research projects attracted funding of $1 million or more during the 2006-2007 fiscal year were honored this month by NMSU President Michael Martin, his wife, Jan, and Vimal Chaitanya, NMSU's vice president for Research, Graduate Studies and International Programs.

A special reception took place Jan. 7 at the Stan Fulton Athletic Center to recognize the efforts of 31 researchers in six academic colleges, the College of Extended Learning, NMSU's Dona Ana Community College, the Physical Science Laboratory and the New Mexico Department of Agriculture.

"Research is the driver for economic development, quality of life, pride, recognition and national ranking," Chaitanya said. "Responsible research helps local community, state, nation and indeed impacts the world. Research and scholarly activity can be measured in many ways. Today we are recognizing these outstanding researchers who brought in more than a million dollars during the fiscal year 2007. We are grateful to them and other researchers who are promoting NMSU to a new level of leadership roles."

Recognized Jan. 7 were:

College of Agriculture and Home Economics - Lowell B. Catlett, LeRoy A. Daugherty, Esther L. Devall and Paul Gutierrez

College of Arts and Sciences - Kurt S. Anderson, Jeffrey B. Arterburn, Marvin Bernstein, Glenn D. Kuehn, Debra P. Peters and Desh Ranjan

College of Business - Kevin B. Boberg and Gerald M. Hampton

College of Education - Nancy E. Baptiste, Susan W. Brown and Karin Wiburg

College of Engineering - James L. Conca, Abbas Ghassemi, Ricardo B. Jacquez and Andrew L. Rosenthal

College of Health and Social Services - Stephen C. Anderson

College of Extended Learning - Carmen Gonzales

Physical Science Laboratory - John A. Baker, Myles C. Culbertson, Joanne M. Esparza, Kathrine M. Graham, William M. Gutman, Stephen B. Hottman, Stephen R. Lowe and Marcos R. Quinones

NMSU Dona Ana Community College - Sylvia Nickerson

New Mexico Department of Agriculture - Larry Dominguez