NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

4-H Winners Claim Awards at Annual State Conference

LAS CRUCES - Top 4-H members from across New Mexico received awards and scholarships at a ceremony July 13, the culmination of a four-day State 4-H Conference at New Mexico State University.

Casey Wooten of Quay County and Max DeAzevedo of Torrance County received $250 scholarships from NMSU's College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences .

New Mexico Family and Community Educators awarded a $1,000 scholarship to Jimmy Plane of Sierra County and a $500 scholarship to Jesse Decker of San Juan County. Plane also received a $500 scholarship from Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.

The 4-H Foundation awarded $2,000 scholarships to Joshua Roberton of Luna County, Cori Carter of Grant County, Mollie Hightower of Lincoln County, Rob Shafer of Lincoln County and Terry Riddle of Quay County.

The top scorers or high-point individuals in 10 contests won $500 scholarships: Agricultural Presentations - Nicholas Martinez of Rio Arriba, Home Economics Presentations - Jessica Archuleta-Saiz of Rio Arriba, General Presentations - Adam Offutt of Grant County, Prepared Public Speaking - Darby Hibner of Luna County, Consumer Decision Making - Joe Grant Nash of Curry County, Horticulture Judging - Sherry Johnson of Curry County, Horse Judging - Johnathan Walsh of Santa Fe County, Livestock Judging - Halee Best of Roosevelt County, Fashion Revue - Kerri Rowland of chaves County, Shooting Sports - Chris Blaine of Valencia County.

Contest winners and their counties are as follows (HP designates the high-point individual for that contest):

Bernalillo County. Hippology Team - Jenna Pisel, Amanda LaPrelle, Shianne Kornrumph. Hippology - Jesse Pisel (HP). Consumer Decision Making Team - Chris Hammer, Kaitlyn Bobbin, Camille Cordova and Abby Boling. Home Economics Bowl Team - Melisa Hart, Scot Hart, Amber Carman and Peter Cook.

Catron County. Horse Bowl Team - Anna Rowe (HP), Eddie Atwood, Rachel Vaughn and Naomi Ortega.

Chaves County. Range Team - Shelby Wooten (HP), Jessica Corn, Jamie Dunn and Dusty Winkler. Land Judging Team - Stacey Eberhart, Andrew Patton, Dusty Winkler and Shawn Boggs. Fashion Revue - Kerri Rowland. Pistol - Jason Duffey (HP).

Cibola County. Archery Compound Bare Bow Team - Shaun Brandt, Tyerell Purcell and Cauy Goar. Archery Compound Bare Bow - Justin Cook (HP).

Colfax County. Archery Traditional Bow Team - Laura Lemons, Kurt Sanders and Thomas Wortman (HP). Target Rifle Team - James Lark, Cameron Burk (HP), Laura Lemons and Thomas Wortman.

Curry County. Crops Judging Team - Martin Mackechnie, Jenni Williams (HP), Stefan Wagley and Zane Drager. Consumer Decision Making - Joe Grant Nash (HP). Horticulture Team - Ashleigh Simon, Melissa Johnson and Sherry Johnson (HP). Fashion Magic - Ashley Denton.

DeBaca County. Meat Judging Team - Kimberly Crist, Shem Oliver, Hannah Oliver and Jamelynn Johnson (HP). Dairy Judging - Marcy Wilson (HP).

Grant County. Light Rifle Silhouette - Peter Becker (HP). General Presentations - Adam Offutt.

Guadalupe. Wildlife Habitat Evaluation Team - Josh Sisneros, Santiago Chavez and Carlos Cordova.

Lea County. Horse Public Speaking - Lacey Isbell. Dairy Bowl Team - Kallie Likes, Eric Wilmeth, Raelynn Dunlap and Lindsey Worden.

Luna County. Prepared Public Speaking - Darby Hibner.

Otero County. Wildlife Habitat Evaluation - Leslie Abercrombie. Pistol Team - Ryan Rust, Chris Coley, J.W. McFarland and Ty Trammell.

Quay County. Horse Judging Team - Tiffany Dowell, Terry Riddle, Kalon Lafferty and Brad Kirksey. Muzzleloading Team - Tana Haller, Richard Abercrombie, Brett Sanders and Clay Hight. Wool Judging - Amy Byrd (HP). Archery Freestyle Limited - Tanna Haller. Livestock Judging Team - Brad Kirksey, Terry Riddle, Kalon Lafferty and Tiffany Dowell. Shotgun Team - Richard Abercrombie, Terry Riddle, Brett Sanders and Clay Hight (HP).

Rio Arriba County. Home Economics Presentations - Jessica Archuleta-Saiz. Agricultural Presentations - Nicholas Martinez.

Roosevelt County. Favorite Food Show - Casey Buzard. Livestock Judging - Halee Best. Land Judging - Bob Reed (HP).

Sandoval County. Entomology - Michaella Gorospe (HP).

San Juan County. Wool Team - Elizabeth Robinson, Jennifer Doyle, Rachael Davis and Ashley Riley. Light Rifle Silhouette - Jacob Justice, Chris Herbaugh, Matt Herbaugh and Jason Radojits. Livestock Skill-A-Thon - Leslie Utton (HP).

Santa Fe County. Horse Judging - Johnathan Walsh (HP).

Sierra County. Entomology Team - Chance Carter, Justin Riggs, Rachel Redd and Summer Lyon.

Torrance County. Livestock Skill-A-Thon Team - Cole Gardner, Sarah Dunlap, Erin McMath and Lawrence Romero.

Union County. Dairy Judging Team - Thomas Clay, Rori Morrow, Matthew Copeland and Kayla McNabb.

Valencia County. Muzzleloading - Eli Thompson (HP). Archery Freestyle Unlimited Team - Chris Blaine (HP), Dan McFadden, Eli Thompson and Trevor Smith. Archery Freestyle Limited Team - Phillip Willmuth, Reynaldo Carrillo, Bill Buck and Vikram Ahluwalia. Parliamentary Procedure Team - Mellissa Daniels, Kendra Miller, Clay Silliman, Jayme Runyan, Amber Jones and Jessie Wells. Impromptu Public Speaking - Kendra Miller.