NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU's NAMA Chapter Places Third

LAS CRUCES - New Mexico State University's National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA) chapter recently placed third as the outstanding student chapter at the national conference April 11-14 in Kansas City.

NAMA collegiate chapters focus on undergraduates interested in agricultural marketing, sales and business careers.

"The students that attend the conference have the ability to meet with professionals from all over the country, making career plans and creating essential contacts," said Andy Smith, a sophomore majoring in agricultural economics and agricultural business.

Based on an annual report prepared by Darla Mayes of Carlsbad, the chapter received third place. Lorna Brown, a sophomore majoring in agricultural economics and agricultural business, received a $1,500 National NAMA scholarship.

Students took part in a marketing competition based on work done in an agribusiness market planning class with associate professor Cynda Clary. During the semester, students research a product, develop a one- to three-year marketing plan and present it to the product's manufacturer. This year's product was Bioject, a plant microbial system developed by EcoSoils.

"NAMA is not just for agricultural economics and agricultural business majors," Clary said. "Students from majors all over the university benefit from the skills learned through NAMA."

"The marketing team allows plenty of opportunity to freshen up skills in research, public speaking and overall public relations," said Troy Ladner, a senior majoring in agricultural and extension education.

Students who presented NMSU's marketing project at the competition were Jamie Ayers, Las Cruces; Josh Beyer, Las Cruces; Jason Balthrop, Albuquerque; Lorna Brown, Las Cruces; Felicia Chacón, Española; Jeremy Kohler, Clayton; Kirby Chacon, Logan; Stacey Hatch, Fruitland; Troy Ladner, El Paso; Desiree Maddox, Ruidoso; Kris Massey, Animas; Jodie Matejcek, El Paso; Katrina Nieto, Los Alamos; Twilla Parker, Hobbs; Alfonso Ramos III, Chihuahua, Mexico; Michael Ronquillo, Tucson, Ariz.; Andy Smith, Artesia; and Kimberly Smith, Roy.