NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Philanthropy awards presented

A New Mexico State University faculty member was recognized as the Outstanding Fund Raising Volunteer, and two organizations that have supported NMSU programs also received awards, as the Texas/El Paso Chapter of the National Society of Fund Raising Executives observed Philanthropy Day on Nov. 15.

Nancy McMillan, NMSU geology professor, was honored for her efforts in establishing the Community of Hope, an alliance of non-profit agencies addressing the needs of the poor and homeless in Las Cruces. She is a founder of the organization, served as its president from 1991-97, and was instrumental in raising money for a building to house Community of Hope agencies.

The Robert E. and Evelyn McKee Foundation of El Paso received the Outstanding Foundation Award and the El Paso Energy Company and Foundation received the Outstanding Corporation Award. Both were nominated by NMSU.

Over the past 25 years, the McKee Foundation has contributed more than $200,000 to NMSU. The foundation has established scholarships in the colleges of engineering and agriculture, provided grants to the NMSU Library and been a regular sponsor of KRWG-TV, the public television station at NMSU.

El Paso Energy has supported an array of scholarships in the NMSU colleges of business and engineering, provided underwriting for KRWG-TV and public radio station KRWG-FM, supported the university's Chemical Olympics program and been a major benefactor of the University Art Gallery. In addition, El Paso Energy funds annual faculty achievement awards.

Also honored at the chapter's Philanthropy Day Luncheon was the El Paso Independent School District Fund, recognized as the Outstanding Philanthropic Organization.

The El Paso/Texas Chapter of the NSFRE covers Las Cruces, El Paso and Juarez. Cynthia Peak Hoffmann, grants and development director for the NMSU College of Arts and Sciences, is president of the chapter.