NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU professor becomes president-elect of science academy

New Mexico State University biology professor James "Skipper" Botsford became president-elect of the New Mexico Academy of Science at the academy's annual meeting in Albuquerque on Saturday, Nov. 13.

Botsford has served as vice president of the organization for the past year. As president-elect for the coming year, he is in line to become president in 2001.

The goals of the NMAS are to foster scientific research and scientific cooperation, increase public awareness of the role of science in human progress and human welfare, and promote science education in New Mexico.

Botsford said his primary objective for the coming year will be to help focus attention on ways to improve science education in the state's middle and high schools.

NMSU astronomy professor Kurt Anderson has been president of the organization for the past year. He was succeeded at Saturday's meeting by Glenn Kuswa of Sandia National Laboratories.

The NMAS supports a Visiting Scientist Program for the state's schools, a Junior Academy of Science for middle and high school students and a teacher award program to recognize outstanding teachers of science and mathematics. The academy also publishes the New Mexico Journal of Science.

At the academy's annual banquet Saturday, Anderson presented Outstanding Teacher Awards to David P. Nohe, an eighth-grade science teacher at Chaparral Middle School in Alamogordo, and Sara Sue Torres, who runs a sixth-grade "Magnet Science" program at Sierra Middle School in Las Cruces.