NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

4-H Members Win Scholarships

LAS CRUCES-New Mexico 4-H members won more than $15,000 in scholarships at an awards ceremony July 17 during the annual State 4-H Conference at New Mexico State University. To qualify, students wrote essays about their 4-H experiences and college aspirations.

Marsha Bryant of Santa Fe County, Sarah Crumbley of Doņa Ana County, Jaymelynn Kay Johnson of De Baca County and Heather A. Stumpff of Santa Fe County each received a $500 4-H Youth Development Foundation Scholarship.

Bryant has been a member of Los Amigos 4-H Club for nine years. She has raised and shown several pigs, including a runt that grew into a healthy-sized animal. Bryant has served in several club offices and as a state 4-H diplomat. She will study animal science this fall at NMSU.

Crumbley, a member of Fort Selden 4-H Club, has done everything from baking and sewing to improving leadership skills during her time as a 4-H'er. She has served as club president and vice president, as well as other offices, and as a state 4-H diplomat. Crumbley also received a $500 Torch Memorial Scholarship. She will study hotel, restaurant and tourism management in the fall.

Johnson, a member of Valley 4-H Club, has placed in several market swine competitions. She has served on committees and has been president, vice president, treasurer and secretary for her club and the county. Johnson has been a member of 4-H for 10 years and plans to study animal science at NMSU this fall.

Stumpff has been a member of Wide Horizons 4-H Club for 10 years. She has done everything from growing flowers and baking desserts to building rockets and shooting a rifle and bow and arrow. She plans to continue working with 4-H while studying hotel, restaurant and tourism management at NMSU this fall.

Amy Byrd of Quay County, Darby Hibner of Luna County and Amanda M. Plane of Sierra County each received a $1,000 Garduņos Scholarship.

Byrd is a member of Tumbleweeds 4-H Club. She helped build an outdoor classroom facility in Tucumcari. Since her first on-camera interview at the age of 12, Byrd has wanted to pursue a career as a news anchor. She will study agricultural communications in the fall.

Hibner, a 10-year member of Tumbleweeds 4-H Club, has done volunteer service through 4-H. He has also served as a 4-H ambassador. Hibner will study agricultural economics and public relations at NMSU in the fall.

Plane has been a member of Caballo Wranglers 4-H Club for 10 years. Hers was the only family with sheep in their backyard in the middle of town. Plane's family has since moved outside city limits where there is more space for animals. She has served in several club offices, including president and secretary, and as a state 4-H ambassador. In addition, she received a $1,000 Allen Chapman Scholarship, $500 Mary Moore Memorial scholarship and the $750 New Mexico Wool Growers Scholarship. Plane will study agricultural and extension education and elementary education at NMSU in the fall.

Elisa French of Luna County received a $500 Pioneer Seed Hi-Bred International Scholarship. She has held several offices in her nine years in the Tumbleweeds 4-H Club, including president and vice president. Her projects have involved everything from hogs and lambs to baking and sewing. French plans to attend NMSU where she will study agricultural communication and agricultural and extension education in the fall.

Tyrell Peterson of Hidalgo County received a $1,000 Valley Telephone Cooperative Scholarship. He has participated in several projects in his 10 years in Cotton City 4-H Club, including shooting sports, wildlife identification and showing swine. A graduate of Animas High School, Peterson will attend Mesalands Community College in Tucumcari in the fall.

Clint Hopper of Chaves County won a Family and Community Education 4-H Scholarship of $1,000. Chelsea Daugherty of Otero County, Shanna Hardin of Lea County, Jacquelyn Madrid of Doņa Ana County and Heather Stumpff of Santa Fe County each received a $500 FCE 4-H Scholarship.