NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

4-H Members Win Awards at State Conference

LAS CRUCES-4-H members from across the state received awards at a ceremony July 17, capping off the weeklong State 4-H Conference at New Mexico State University.

High-point individual winners in nine contests received $500 scholarships from NMSU's College of Agriculture and Home Economics. They are Andrew Nordquist, Catron County, agricultural presentation; Whitney Kupferer, Bernalillo County, home economics presentation; Elizabeth Malone, Bernalillo County, general presentation; Erin Williamson, Eddy County, prepared public speaking; Elizabeth Malone, Bernalillo County, consumer decision making; Logan Potts, Curry County, horse judging; Davena Norris, Grant County, livestock judging; Katie Laney, Luna County, fashion revue; and Chanz Robbins, Hidalgo County, horticulture.

Awards for 28 statewide competitions were also presented. First place winners are listed by county below.

BERNALILLO COUNTY. Hippology team-Cassie Benson, Lisa Bustos, Gina MacFarlane (high-point individual) and Megan Sprague. Consumer decision-making team-Ryan Carman, Richard Holets, Elizabeth Malone (high-point individual) and Sean Malone. Talent Show-Lisa Bustos, winner, vocal contest. Fashion revue-Carlee Carmen, high-point individual, casual wear contest. Home economics bowl team-David Bracken, Whitney Kupferer, Elizabeth Malone and Sean Malone. Horse bowl team-Lisa Bustos, Brad Kornrumph, Gina MacFarlane and Jesse Pisel.

CATRON COUNTY. Dairy bowl team-Keylee Farrington, Shad Ortega, Jesse Vaughn and Chance Williams. Wildlife habitat evaluation-Andrew Nordquist, high-point individual.

CHAVES COUNTY. Range management team-Trevor Gray, Dakotah Hargrove, Kade Lucero and Shelby Wooton. Fashion revue-Seasons Hefner, high-point individual, creative touches contest. Debbie Reyer, high-point individual, coordinates contest. Wool judging team-Trevor Gray, Clint Hopper (high-point individual), Kade Lucero and Kade Wooton. Crops judging-Trevor Gray, Dakotah Hargrove and Dusty Winkler.

CURRY COUNTY. Horse judging team-Corey Bell, Kevin Burns, Logan Potts (high-point individual) and Curtis Williams. Horticulture team-James Gant, Mark Gant, Kayla Hinrichs and Melissa Johnson. Fashion revue-Allyson Douglas, high-point individual, tailoring contest. Douglas received the Susan Wright Encouragement Award for the senior clothing contest II. Entomology team-Cole Andes, Jennifer Blackburn, Lori Richardson and Wade Richardson. Fashion magic-Kecia Bradley, high-point individual, clothing coordination contest.

DE BACA COUNTY. Meats identification-Derek Dimitroff, high-point individual. Dairy judging-Jaymelynn Johnson, high-point individual. Crops judging-Shannon Wilson, high-point individual.

DONA ANA COUNTY. Impromptu public speaking-Amanda Lowry, first place. Wildlife habitat evaluation team-Joseph Clayshulte, Matthew Ellis, Stephan Gomez and Benjamin Wilson. Fashion magic-Amanda Lowry, high-point individual, marketplace contest.

EDDY COUNTY. Prepared public speaking-Erin Williamson.

GRANT COUNTY. Land judging team-Aaron Crumbley, Jack Crumbley, Davena Norris (high-point individual) and Chris Taylor. Livestock judging team-Jack Crumbley, Davena Norris (high-point individual), Lance Sippy and Cal Wenzel.

HIDALGO COUNTY. Horticulture-Chanz Robbins, high-point individual.

LEA COUNTY. Dairy judging team-Rachel Myers, Beth Nave, Lindsey Worden and Wayne Worden.

LUNA COUNTY. Horse public speaking-Darby Hibner, high-point individual. Fashion revue-Katie Laney, high-point individual, creative design contest. Ivy Wilken, high-point individual, formal wear contest.

OTERO COUNTY. Parliamentary procedure-Chelsea Daugherty, Cresta Hooser, Kammi Jones, Kendra Jones, Cody McFarland, J.W. McFarland, Ryan Rust and Joey Whitted. Talent show participants-Chelsea Daugherty, Cresta Hooser, Kammi Jones, Kendra Jones, Cody McFarland, J.W. McFarland, Ryan Rust and Joey Whitted.

ROOSEVELT COUNTY. Favorite foods contest-Jena Bilberry, first place.

SAN JUAN COUNTY. Fashion revue-Kimberly Sanders, high-point individual, dress up contest. Talent show-Jason Tomko, first place, comedy contest.

SIERRA COUNTY. Range management-Tawney Lindsay, high-point individual.

TORRANCE COUNTY. Livestock skillathon-Stephanie Dunlap, Judd Gardner (high-point individual), Jace McMath and Lindsay Mitchell. Meats identification team-Tate Corliss, Shayna Dunlap, Judd Gardner and Jace McMath.

UNION COUNTY. Fashion magic-Janae Hauser, high-point individual, wardrobe plan contest. She will receive a $100 scholarship from the New Mexico 4-H Foundation.

VALENCIA COUNTY. Entomology-Bryce Richard, high-point individual. Talent show-Bryce Richard, first place, musical contest.