NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

4-H Members Win Awards at State 4-H Conference

LAS CRUCES?Top 4-H members and teams from across the state won ribbons, plaques, medals and college scholarships at the State 4-H Conference July 11-15 at New Mexico State University.

4-H members Josiah Norton, left, and Jason Tomko of San Juan County won first place in the comedy division of the talent show during the State 4-H Conference July 11-15 at New Mexico State University. The duo performed a version of Abbott and Costello's classic routine, "Who's on First." (07/15/2005) (NMSU Agricultural Communications Photo by J. Victor Espinoza)

In more than 30 contests during the week, 4-H members honed their skills in public speaking, livestock judging, insect identification, food preparation, wardrobe design, budgeting and performing arts.

NMSU's College of Agriculture and Home Economics awarded $500 scholarships to the high-point individual winners in nine contests:
? Shadoe Petty of Chaves County, agriculture presentation
? Lauren Graham of Curry County, home economics presentation
? Juston Moore of Catron County, general presentation
? Brandon Sours of Quay County, prepared public speaking
? Jerra McMath of Torrance County, consumer decision making
? Katherine Gutierrez of Bernalillo County, horse judging
? Kaycee McDaniel of Lea County, livestock judging
? Katelyn Olson of Doņa Ana, Fashion Revue
? Amelia Clayshulte of Doņa Ana, horticulture

Contest winners and high-point individuals are listed below by county.

Horse judging team: Abbey Kocurek, Michelle Reynolds, Kathryn LaFree and Katherine Gutierrez, high-point individual. Hippology team: Megan Sprague, Irene Johnson, Kelly Horton and Gina MacFarlane, high-point individual. Fashion magic-wardrobe planning: Hayley Sparks, first place. Horse public speaking: Gina MacFarlane, first place. Home Economics Bowl team: Clinton Galloway, Whitney Kupferer, Amanda Dearholt and Carlee Carman. Horse Bowl team: Calley Thompson, Kristina Dahm, Kelly Horton and Gina MacFarlane, high-point individual.

Dairy Bowl team: A'Lora Norris, Bill Squire, Justin Squire and Bryan Norris. Favorite Foods: Cole Burson, first place. Fashion Revue-senior clothing construction-casual wear: Seasons Hefner, first place. Entomology team: Bryan Norris, Bill Squire, Justin Squire and A'Lora Norris. Range management: Trevor Gray, high-point individual.

Crops judging team: Bryce Lockmiller, Lainey Widner, Casey Estes and Lori Richardson, high-point individual. Fashion Revue-creative touches category: Kirsty Forrest, first place. Home Economics Skill-a-thon: Ricky Burns, Chelsea Hinrichs, Kayla Hinrichs and Kirsty Forrest, high-point individual.

Impromptu public speaking: Arik Alba, first place. Talent show-poetry category: Charlie Woodall, first place. Fashion Revue-senior clothing construction-coordinates: Katelyn Olson, first place.

Land judging team: Jordan Blount, Allison Klein, Courtney Klein and Leticia Varelas, high-point individual. Talent show-vocal category: Ruben Trujillo and Sherida Elkins, first place duet. Range management team: Dakota Neel, Sherida Elkins, Nathan Worley and Bryce Elkins. Wool judging team: Bryce Elkins, Ruben Trujillo, Brandi Polk and Sherida Elkins.

Livestock Skill-a-thon team: Katie Taylor, Stacy Costa, Loretta Laumbach and Jacob Herron, high-point individual

Fashion Magic - clothing coordination first place, and fashion magic high-point individual: Kelcie Orphey.

Livestock judging team: Cassie Culver, Austin Etheridge, Andy Wilhoit and Kaycee McDaniel, high-point individual. Fashion Revue-specialized category: Tommie Hall, first place.

Fashion Revue-senior clothing construction-dress-up attire: Jennifer Schaffer, first place.

Talent show-musical category: Kelsey Leeson, first place. Talent show-choreographed routine: Hollie Wilkerson, first place.

Talent show-comedy category: Jason Tomko and Josiah Norton, first place. Talent show-drama category: Victor Gil, first place. Fashion Revue-creative design category: Linda Jones, first place. Fashion Revue-senior clothing construction-formal wear: Courtney Stark, first place. Horticulture team: Ryan Painter, Jason Tomko, Melissa Taylor and J. T. Van Huss.

Parliamentary procedure team: Kiane Pound, Matthew Harris, Phillip Zuni Jr., Monica Bernal, Ashley Lynch and Shawna McLain.

Consumer decision making team: Lindsay Mitchell, Billy Teaney, Jace McMath and Jerra McMath, high-point individual. Meats judging (team 1): Tate Corliss, Shayna Dunlap and Jace McMath. Meats judging (team 2): Francisco Anaya, high-point individual. Dairy judging team: Jace McMath, Jett Sharp, Shayna Dunlap and Lindsay Mitchell, high-point individual. Wool judging: Clayton Gardner, high-point individual.

Wildlife habitat evaluation team: Tim Huereņa, Tommy Perez, Dustie Powell and Traci Galemore, high point individual. Entomology: Bryce Richard, high-point individual.

4-H is the largest youth organization in the world with 7 million youth members and 603,000 volunteer leaders. New Mexico has more than 76,000 members, 11,000 volunteers and 200 projects ranging from livestock and leathercraft to baking and rocketry.