NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

FFA Members Earn Career Development Awards at NMSU

LAS CRUCES ? FFA members collected awards for more than 20 career development contests April 2 at New Mexico State University, concluding a three day competition.

"The best thing is that kids learn responsibility and decision making by using facts at hand to think on their feet. These are things that will help them later in life," said Mark Runyan, assistant FFA state supervisor. "It also gives them a chance to meet people and have fun."

FFA members participate in community service projects, competitions and leadership events that prepare them for more than 300 careers related to agriculture. About 1,400 students representing more than 60 chapters competed in the state contest.

The Dora FFA chapter, coached by Kit Pettigrew won the sweepstakes award in production agriculture for team members' performance in related contests. The horticulture sweepstakes award was presented to the Tucumcari chapter, coached by Doug Sours.

High-point individuals and first-place teams in each contest are listed by chapter.

Farm business management team: Leticia Varelas, high point individual, Seth Menefee, Baily Van Winkle and Jordan Blout.
Pasture and range team: Dakota Neel, high point individual, Bryce Elkins, Sherida Elkins and Nathan Worley.
Entomology team: Caitlin Lindsey, high point individual, Marisol Garcia, Elizabeth Muniz and Kayla Patterson.

Wool: Brooke Hughes, high point individual.

Horticulture produce team: David Medrano, Jessica Perez and Aaron Turkle.
Homesite: Timothy Durand, high point individual.
Forestry team: Dustin Davenport, high point individual, Jessica Warton, Stephanie Wade and Haley Chesser.

Dairy foods team: Renee Gantert, Zac Teston, Kelsi King and Tori Varnell.
Agricultural mechanics team: Rudy Lopez, high point individual, Yancy Swift, Shawn Quick and Johnny Lopez.
Land team: Austin Prewett, high point individual, Kameron King, Wesley Skelley and Hector Fierro.
Homesite team: Austin Prewett, Kameron King, Hector Fierro and Wesley Skelley.

Meats evaluation team: Judd Gardner, high point individual, Jace McMath, Shayna Dunlap and Tate Corliss.
Poultry: Kelsey Sours, high point individual.
Wool team: Lindsay Mitchell, Tate Corliss, Clayton Gardner and Gretchen Adams.

Crops team: Tobea Patterson, Lindsay Mansell, Delane Luce and Kelly Fortner.

Horticulture produce: Amber Doucet, high point individual.

Horse: Deanna Duran, high point individual.

Poultry team: Bretta Smith, Daniel Acosta, Jessica Bell and Adrianna Chavez.
Dairy cattle team: Drew Perez, high individual, Denton Dowell, Ashlee Burns and Shawnee Muncy.

Landscape design: Montana Pettis, high point individual.
Floriculture: Cami Pierson, high point individual.

Horse team: Cage Riley, Jason Runyan, Kelly Fish and Tyler Tatum.

Wildlife team: Travis Gran, high point individual, Amy Lamb, Deedee Bailey and Rayshell Fulfer.

Livestock: Trey Rusk, high point individual.

Landscape design team: Rosita Lopez, Dominique Royball, Andrea Tenorio and Brian Muniz.

Junior high quiz bowl team: Bo Simpson, Katie Grandle, Phillip Keppler and Katy Rosencrans.

Livestock team: Lance Sippy, Becka Polomski, Cal Wenzel and Trent Donovan.

Dairy foods: Phillip Cruz, high point individual.

Crops: Lori Richardson, high point individual.

Nursery/landscape team: Stephanie Burns, high point individual, Sarah Burson, Valtie Riddle and Cade Fernandez.
Floriculture team: Sarah Burson, Dillin Lopez, Chelsea Beall and Valtie Riddle.