NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU rodeo team wins several categories at the 'Best Rodeo of the Year'

The "Best Rodeo of the Year," as voted by the directors and coaches of the Grand Canyon Region of the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association was hosted by New Mexico State University April 29-30 at the Southern New Mexico Fairgrounds.

This is the sixth year in a row that NMSU won this distinction. NMSU rodeo coach Jim Brown said it's likely because of the effort that's put into it.

"We try and go the extra mile to make things exciting for the audience as we gear up for college finals," Brown said. "We do our best to have a great announcer and a great clown act to keep the crowd going between events. The kids always step up and make sure things run as smoothly as possible so that the fans have a good time."

As far as results from the rodeo, NMSU's women's team won first place and the men's team landed in third place. Rodeo team member Kendra Stineman took first place in breakaway roping and Jessica Silva took third in the same category. Cooper Ray DeWitt placed first in the saddle bronc riding contest and Cody Hendren placed third.

The NMSU Rodeo team members wrapped up the goat tying competition with Brandi Pfeifer taking first place, Staci Stanbrough taking second, Dixie Richards taking third and Olivia Train taking fourth place.

Dixie Richards ranked third in the women's all-around and in the men's all-around Johnny Salvo, Ethan Shelley and Michael Bates took third, fourth and fifth place respectively.

In team roping header, Ethan Shelly won first place and Bryce Runyan won second place while in team roping heeler, Cole Rogers took first place and Cody Runyon took second.

In the breakaway roping category, Aggie Kendra Stineman took first place, Jessica Silva took third and Dixie Richards got seventh place.

Second place in bareback riding went to Anthony Buckman while Johnny Salvo took second place in tie down roping and Michael Bates took third place in steer wrestling.

NMSU is also sending 12 rodeo athletes to the College National Finals Rodeo in Capser, Wyo. June 12-18. Team members competing will be Staci Stanbrough, Kendra Stineman, Olivia Train, Dixie Richards, Shian Irwin, Cooper DeWitt, Anthony Buckman, Johnny Salvo, Bo Simpson, Cole Rogers, Ethan Shelley and Rodee Walraven.

For information about upcoming rodeo events, contact Jim Brown at brownji@nmsu.edu.