NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU faculty honored at spring convocation

New Mexico State University faculty and staff were welcomed back to campus today during the Spring 2012 Convocation ceremony. As with past convocations, faculty members were recognized for their outstanding work.

Winners of the spring 2012 Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Awards.
Left to right: Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Award recipients Jose "Pep" Gomez, Rudolfo Chavez Chavez, April Ulery, Gabriela Buchenau, William "Bill" Lockhart, Paul Furth, Sue Forster-Cox, J. Sean McCleneghan, Cindy Seipel and Alfred Gene Romero pose for a group photo following the NMSU Spring Convocation ceremony. (photo by Darren Phillips)

"Graduation is our No. 1 goal for students here at New Mexico State University and the work of our faculty is critical to that mission," said Greg Fant, associate vice president and deputy provost. "Today, I am honored to be recognizing 11 dedicated faculty members who exemplify NMSU's overall efforts to help usher our students to graduation."

All 11 faculty members spotlighted during the ceremony were honored with the Donald C. Roush Excellence in Teaching Award. The award is named after a former NMSU executive vice president in recognition of his 35 years of teaching improvement in New Mexico.

This year's Roush Award winners are: Gabriela Buchenau, college associate professor of languages and linguistics; Rudolfo Chávez Chávez, professor of curriculum and instruction; Sue Forster-Cox, associate professor of health science; Paul M. Furth, associate professor of electrical and computer engineering; Jose "Pep" Gomez, assistant professor of welding at Dońa Ana Community College; Ronald Girmus, assistant professor of science at NMSU-Carlsbad; William (Bill) Lockhart, professor of humanities, social services and education at NMSU-Alamogordo; J. Sean McCleneghan, professor of journalism and mass communications; Alfred Gene Romero, assistant professor of humanities in art and writing at NMSU-Grants; Cindy Seipel, professor of accounting and information systems; and April Ulery, professor of plant and environmental sciences.