NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU scholarship recipients meet benefactor

Scholarship recipients at New Mexico State University and Dona Ana Community College were able to meet Stephen J. Wolslager, vice president of the Wolslager Foundation, and express their gratitude for the financial assistance provided by the foundation during a reception last Friday.

Steven Wolslager, in a grey suit and black glasses, talks with a student whose back is slightly to the camera.
Stephen Wolslager, vice-president of the Wolslager Foundation, talks with scholarship recipient Colette Bruhoeber. (NMSU photo by Gabriella Ferrari)

The Wolslager Foundation has been supporting non-traditional students though scholarships at NMSU and Dona Ana Community College since 2002. The foundation awards 70 scholarships to students at both campuses each year.

"Meeting scholarship recipients gives you a feel for the type of student you reach and the type of challenges they face," Wolslager said. "They are inspirational and it's remarkable to hear the adversities they have overcome. It is very gratifying."

The Wolslager Scholarship is available to full-time students at Dona Ana Community College and NMSU students who transferred from DACC to complete their undergraduate work.

"The Wolslager scholarship made it so I didn't have to stop my education at Dona Ana Community College," junior Cynthia Garibay said. She is studying family and child sciences.

Junior Vanessa Mendez said the scholarship allowed her to pursue leadership opportunities she otherwise would not have been able to do.

"It allowed me to be involved in college rather than work two jobs," Mendez, a communication studies major, said.

The Wolslager Foundation was established to improve the quality of life for individuals in the area where J.W. and the late Josephine S. Wolslager owned and operated their Coca-Cola bottling franchise. Since 1996, The Wolslager Foundation has distributed more than $38 million to more than 190 nonprofit organizations in south-eastern Arizona, south-central New Mexico and West Texas.

In addition to Wolslager, other board members and officers include: J.W. Wolslager Jr., president; Shirley Rogers, treasurer and director; Trey Wolslager, director; and James A. Carter, director.