NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

College of Education to honor academic achievement

The New Mexico State University College of Education will present 10 undergraduate students with the inaugural Dean's Academic Award during a ceremony at 10 a.m. May 12, in the O'Donnell Hall Atrium.

The award will recognize students who were the top in their program with an honors plaque. The Dean's Academic Award is presented to the outstanding senior and nine other students each fall and spring semester.

This year the College of Education will honor Valerian Garay, from San Antonio, Texas as the outstanding senior. The communication disorders major and crimson scholar will graduate with a 4.0 GPA.

The other Dean's Academic Award recipients include Jennifer Agnew, Cassinetta Belford, Anne Bishop, Cecilia Fierro, Jennifer Martinez, Betty D. McDaniel, Blaine Proctor, Jana Strnadova and Davina Weber.

The College of Education will also honor its doctoral candidates and outstanding senior at the Dean's Doctoral Tea and Outstanding Senior Ceremony at 3:30 p.m. on Friday, May 11, also in the O'Donnell Hall Atrium. Nataly Teresa Archbold, Jamie S. Baker, Thea K. Hand, Rodchompoo Walaiwad and Mary Ann Wallace will receive their doctorates from the department of curriculum and instruction. Hank DiMatteo, Neta Fernandez and Telfilo Ugalde will receive their doctorates from the department of educational management and development.

The ceremony began 10 years ago and is held each fall and spring as part of the commencement activities. The outstanding senior receives an award of $500 from Dinus and June Briggs for the Denise Briggs Outstanding Senior Award, in honor of their daughter. This spring semester eight doctoral candidates will receive a "Lamp of Knowledge" medallion, made especially for the college, with their name and year engraved.