NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NMSU rodeo teams finish season with women, men in second place nationally

The National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association's last rodeo for the region took place April 27-28 leaving New Mexico State University's women's team ranked first in the region and second in the nation, while the men's rodeo team is ranked second regionally and nationally.

In all-around competition Dixie Lea Richards came in first place during the rodeo, Shelby Montano in third and Randi Simpson in fourth. Trenton Montero and Cody Mirabal represented the NMSU men's team by coming in second and third in all around points.

The women's team held four out of seven spots in goat tying including Dixie Richards in first place and Kendra Stineman in second. NMSU also held five of nine spots in breakaway roping with Shelby Montano in second place, Nicole Sweazea in third and Dixe Richards in fourth.

In the team roping category NMSU held half the positions in header with Rodee Walraven getting second place. NMSU held five out of eight spots in team roping heeler with Thomas Eddy in third place and Kurtis Barry in fourth.

Cooper DeWitt came in first place during the rodeo in saddle bronc riding and is ranked second in the nation for the same category. Other highlights of the competition were Trenton Montero's taking of first place in bull riding and second place in bareback and Cody Mirabal taking third place in tie down roping.

"NMSU Rodeo finished the regular season strong and hopefully will continue our championship drive straight into the College National Finals Rodeo in June," said NMSU rodeo coach Jim Brown.

NMSU will send 11 student athletes to the College National Finals Rodeo or CNFR in Capser, Wyo., June 10-16. During this competition the Intercollegiate Rodeo Association crowns individual event champions and awards national team championships to men's and women's teams. Representing NMSU's women's team will be Richards, Sweazea, Jessica Silva and Brandi Pfeifer. Representing the men's team will be DeWitt, Montero, Mirabal, Walraven, Bo Simpson, Anthony Buckman and Reno Eddy.

"With the talented group NMSU has qualified for the CNFR, we have an excellent chance for some national title," Brown said.