NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

NM EDGE presents professional certificates to 34 county officials, employees

LAS VEGAS, N.M. - Thirty-four county officials and employees from across New Mexico received professional certifications through the NM EDGE's Certified Public Manager program.

Large group of people some with turquoise shirts on.
Recent graduates of NM EDGE County College are, front row from left, Art Kavanaugh, Isabelle Purcella, Kathy Trujillo, Debbie Spriggs, Josie Alonzo, Shannon Capps, with Mary DeLorenzo, Barbara Urioste-Lopez, Marc Legarreta of NM EDGE. Second row are Terri Richards, Sherrie Huddleston, Steve Armendariz, Johna Gonzales, Greg Richard, Lawrence Esquibel, Tasia Young and Paul Gutierrez of New Mexico Association of Counties. Third row are Alfred Sedillo, Thedra Martinez, Benigno Carrillo, Linda Martinez, Darlene Vigil, Lydia Garcia, Kristi Graham, Rosa Porras, Linda Gallegos and Danny Gonzales. Back row are Louise Sanchez, Bonnie Brown, Maggie Valdez, Buster Willis, Dorothy Laney, Erle Wright, Conrad Cordova and Kevin Callahan. (NMSU photo by Jane Moorman)

The certifications were handed out on June 21 during the New Mexico Association of Counties annual conference held in Las Vegas. New Mexico State University's Cooperative Extension Service administers NM EDGE, which stands for Education Designed to Generate Excellence in the public sector.

"We are very proud of the number of graduates this June, especially the county treasurers and their staff members who have taken the challenge to become certified," said Mary DeLorenzo, director of NM EDGE.

There are 23 newly designated certified public officials, six certified public supervisors, 11 certified treasury officials, two certified jail specialist and one certified GIS specialist among the graduates, who represent 18 counties.

NM EDGE County College is working with New Mexico Association of Counties affiliate organizations to develop affiliate-specific curricula for certified treasury official, certified jail specialist and certified GIS specialist.

Eleven county treasurer officials received the New Mexico Certified Treasury Official designation. They are Isabelle Purcella, Bernalillo County chief deputy treasurer; Art Kavanaugh, Bernalillo County compliance officer; Lydia Garcia, Colfax County treasurer; Kathy Trujillo, Colfax County chief deputy treasurer; Debbie Spriggs, Curry County acting treasurer; Terri Richards, Eddy County treasurer; Alfred Sedillo, Grant County treasurer; Steve Armendariz, Grant County chief deputy treasurer; C.J. Garrison, Harding County chief deputy treasurer; Sherrie Huddleston, Lincoln County financial accounting officer; and Josie Alonzo, McKinley County chief deputy treasurer.

The New Mexico Certified Jail Specialist designation is unique to the state. It also serves as a qualifying program to earn national certification through the American Jail Association. Two members of this graduating class -- Benigno Carrillo, Chaves County detention lieutenant, and Johna Gonzales, Taos County detention center director earned the jail specialist designation.

Nancy Smith, San Juan County 911 addressing coordinator, became one of only two people with the New Mexico Certified GIS Specialist designation. The first designation was awarded in January.

The certified public official designation represents the first level of classes that gives a general overview of skills in the New Mexico Certified Public Manager program's seven educational areas. The second level, certified public supervisor designation, focuses on information about the best practices for supervisors is studied.

The third and top level of the program is the certified public manager (CPM) designation which is a nationally recognized accreditation. This level adds information about management and leadership.

Recipients of the certified public official designation, listed by county, are:

? Bernalillo County: Linda Anaya, senior fiscal processor; Kevin Callahan, assistant director of parks and recreation; Art Kavanaugh, compliance officer; and Isabelle Purcella, chief deputy treasurer;

? Catron County: Dorothy Laney, DWI coordinator;

? Colfax County: Linda Gallegos, county assessor; Lydia Garcia, county treasurer; Kristi Graham, chief deputy assessor; Cheryl Navarette, assistant manager, and Kathy Trujillo, chief deputy treasurer;

? Eddy County: Linda Martinez, indigent health care administrator, and Terry Richards, county treasurer;

? Lea County: Shannon Capps, county mapper, and Clarence "Buster" Willis, GIS planning administrator;

? Luna County: Danny Gonzales, human resource and payroll director, and Rosa Porras, human resource, payroll and indigent fund specialist;

? Rio Arriba County: Bonnie Brown, bureau of election coordinator, Thedra Martinez, detention center DWI unit supervisor, Louise Sanchez, DWI coordinator, and Maggie Valdez, bureau of election;

? San Juan County: Nancy Smith, 911 addressing coordinator; and

? Taos County: Conrad Cordova, management information systems director, and Darlene Vigil, county assessor.

Recipients of the certified public supervisor designation, listed by county, are:

? Colfax County: Lydia Garcia, county treasurer; and Kathy Trujillo, chief deputy treasurer;

? Curry County: Debbie Spriggs, acting treasurer;

? Santa Fe County: Erle Wright, GIS data integration administrator;

? Torrance County: Greg Richard, appraiser III; and

? Valencia County: Lawrence Esquibel, director of information.

NM EDGE was established in 2003 as County College. A mutually beneficial project between the NMSU Cooperative Extension Service and the New Mexico Association of Counties, the program has evolved and expanded into the NM EDGE under the leadership and guidance of Jon Boren, associate dean and director of the Cooperative Extension Service, and Paul Gutierrez, executive director of the New Mexico Association of Counties

The NM EDGE Certified Public Manager program received national accreditation in October 2011 from the National Certified Public Manager Consortium, enabling the NM EDGE to bestow the designations on qualified candidates.