NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Provost appointed to National Hispanic Cultural Center board of directors

New Mexico State University Provost William Flores has been appointed to the board of directors of the National Hispanic Cultural Center of New Mexico.

is among 10 New Mexicans appointed by Gov. Bill Richardson and confirmed recently by the state Senate to oversee the activities of the new center, located in Albuquerque.

"It is an honor to be selected to serve on the board of directors of this important center, which is the premier Hispanic cultural center in the country and a place for people of all cultural backgrounds to learn about the rich Hispanic culture of our region," Flores said. "Education is central to the mission of the National Hispanic Cultural Center and I look forward to the wonderful opportunities this world-class facility makes possible."

The center, part of the state Office of Cultural Affairs, opened in Albuquerque's historic Barelas neighborhood in 2000, at the intersection of 4th Street SW and Avenida Cesar Chavez.

"The National Hispanic Cultural Center is an important institution in New Mexico and around the world," Richardson said. "I'm counting on the board of directors to guide the center through its completion so it will be the premier showcase of Hispanic culture and arts."

Other new members of the board are University of New Mexico President Chris Garcia; Javier Gonzales of Accenture, a global management consultant company; Joni Marie Gutierrez, landscape architect with Gutierrez Borowski and Associates Inc.; Father Jerome Martinez y Alire; Chuck Montano, research and development team leader at Los Alamos National Laboratory; Juan Jose Pena, interpreter supervisor of the U.S. District Court in Albuquerque; Ruben Salaz, self employed; Vangie Samora, a consultant; and Carol Ann Sanchez, interim director of operation for the New Mexico Manufacturing Extension Partnership.

The governor reappointed three current members, Loretta Armenta and Ed Lujan of Albuquerque and Matt Martinez of Las Vegas. Two other members will be appointed.