NMSU branding

New Mexico State University

New Mexico State University

News Center

Portales resident named NMSU President's Associates Scholar

New Mexico State University student and Portales resident Kaitlin Garrett has been awarded the 2013 President's Associates Scholarship.

Group photo of NMSU freshman President's Associates Scholar 2013 recipients.
The 2013 NMSU President's Associates Scholarship recipients stand in front of the Conroy Honors Center. Top row, from left, Dakota Burrow, Luis Barrera, Elliott Romo; second row, from left, Allison Jenkins, Ismael Torres, Christian De La Pena, Andrew Casson; third row, from left, Kyanna Martinez, Shelby Martin, Lauren Tinley, Sarah Phillips; bottom row, from left, Kaitlin Garrett, Lindsey Gamboa. Not pictured: Casey McKim and Tel Pickett.(Courtesy Photo)

She is one of 15 NMSU students to have been selected to receive the President's Associates Scholarship.

"We're all very proud of this 35th freshman class of President's Associates Scholars," said Thomas Price, president of the PA Board and a PA Scholar alumnus. "These high-achieving students represent the very best of all regions of New Mexico. I'm confident that the time they'll spend as President's Associates Scholars will help each of these students achieve successful and rewarding futures. As we extend our congratulations to the scholars and their families, the PA Board would also like to once again thank the many donors who recognize the value of this scholarship to the university through their generous, on-going support."

The President's Associates Scholarship is NMSU's most prestigious scholarship. It is awarded to outstanding high school students from New Mexico who demonstrates academic excellence, community involvement and strong leadership potential.

Garrett, daughter of Alan and Rena Garrett, graduated as valedictorian from Portales High School and is majoring in biology at NMSU. She completed 41 hours of dual enrollment in high school and is part of the UNM/NMSU Cooperative Pharmacy Program.

Since the creation of the scholarship in 1978, it has been awarded to more than 300 students, representing every academic discipline and every community in New Mexico.